Who Is Eligible?

Medicaid is a medical program for people who have low-income and limited resources.  To be eligible for Medicaid, you must meet a program type and meet the rules for Utah residency, income, and citizenship.

An individual must qualify each month for continued coverage.  The monthly income standard varies between approximately 55% and 133% of the Federal Poverty Level, depending on category.

There are many types of Medicaid programs.  Further details about eligibility guidelines are available in the Utah Medical Programs Summary.  Please contact a Medicaid Eligibility Worker if you have questions about qualifying for Medicaid or any medical assistance program.

Child Under Age 1

Child Age 0-5

Child Age 6-18

Child Medically Needy

Foster Care Medicaid

Child in Subsidized Adoption

Pregnant Woman

Medically Needy Pregnant Woman

Baby Your Baby

Parent / Caretaker Relative Medicaid

Family Medically Needy Medicaid

12 Month Transitional Medicaid

Individuals with Breast or Cervical Cancer

Aged, Blind or Disabled

Medicaid Work Incentive Program

Spenddown Program (Medically Needy)

Medicare Cost-Sharing Programs

Medicaid for Long-Term Care and Waiver Programs

Refugee Medicaid

Emergency Medicaid

Retroactive Coverage

Most Medicaid programs allow an applicant to request coverage for medical services for up to three months prior to the month in which the person filed a Medicaid application.  A person who received medical, dental, or mental health services and subsequently qualifies for Medicaid may return to each provider with a Medicaid Identification Card for the month in which service was provided.  A provider who has already rendered services may subsequently choose to accept Medicaid as payment in full or refuse to seek Medicaid payment because the patient had not been determined eligible for Medicaid at the time of service.  If the provider accepts Medicaid, Medicaid may pay for the service.  If the provider refuses Medicaid, the patient is responsible for the charges.