

Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee

Meeting Minutes

Thursday, February 17, 2022 7:00 a.m. to 8:45 a.m. Google Meet

Committee Members Present:

Cole Sloan, PharmD

Bryan Larson, PharmD

Clayton Grace, RPh

McKay Robinson, PharmD

Michelle Hofmann, MD

Susan Siegfreid, MD

Committee Members Excused:

Christopher Valentine, MD Clinton Sheffield, MD

Dept. of Health/Div. of Health Care Financing Staff Present:

Bryan Larson, PharmD

Joe Busby, RPh, MBA

Ngan Huynh, PharmD

Stephanie Byrne, PharmD

Luis Moreno, PharmD Andrea Rico, CPhT Jennifer Strohecker, PharmD, Spencer Miller, CPhT

Pharmacy Director

University of Utah Drug Regimen Review Center Staff Presenter:

Monet Luloh, PharmD

Other Individuals Present:

Anthony Duca, Incyte Lindsey Walter, Novartis

Brandon Yip, Sanofi-Aventis Lisa Angelos, Change Healthcare Bret Ferguson, Pfizer Lisa Ashton, Johnson & Johnson Charlie Lovan, AbbVie Mariola Vazquez, LEO Pharma

Gabriela Gutierrez, Pfizer Rob Booth, AbbVie

Jason C Bott, Lilly Samantha Eshelman, Select Health Kelvin Yamashita, Sanofi-Aventis Tony Patterson, Assistant Attorney

Kevin Hinthorne, LEO Pharma General

Lauren Heath, U of U DRRC Valerie Gonzales, U of U DRRC

Lovell Robinson, AbbVie Brian and Holly W.

(Note: 3 Phone Numbers Unidentified)



Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee

Meeting Minutes

Meeting conducted by: Cole Sloan

- Training: Tony Patterson conducted training for the Open and Public Meeting Act.
- 2. Bryan Larson announced a quorum at 7:21AM.
- 3. Review and Approval of November Minutes: Cole Sloan made a motion to approve the minutes from November. Clayton Grace seconded the motion. All in favor, none opposed, no abstention, motion passed.
- 4. Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board Update: Ngan Huynh presented the Board Update. The board met in January to review Lupus Nephritis and recommended to not require prior authorization for Benlysta and Lypkynis. The Board also met in February to review codeine use in children. Board recommended updating age limit in cough, cold, and pain with codeine products to be in alignment with FDA changes. The March DUR meeting has been cancelled and the next meeting will be determined.
- 5. Non-steroidal treatments for atopic dermatitis: Monet Luloh presented from the University of Utah. No explicit definition of mild, moderate, or severe disease is declared in US guidelines. Usually topical therapies are utilized for mild to moderate disease. Systemic treatments are reserved for more severe cases. There are three different classes of FDA approved topical agents; calcineurin inhibitors, phosphodiesterase inhibitors, and Janus Kinase (JAK) inhibitors. All topicals are approved for pediatric and adult patients. Approved systemic agents include Interleukin (IL) antagonists and JAK inhibitors. Among these, there are injectables dupilumab (IL-4 antagonist) and tralokinumab (IL-13 antagonist) and oral medications abrocitinib and upadacitinib (both JAK inhibitors).
- 6. Public Comment:
 - a. Gabriela Gutierrez presented on Cibingo for Pfizer.
 - b. Brandon Yip presented on Dupixent for Sanofi-Aventis.



Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee

Meeting Minutes

- c. Mariola Vasquez presented on Adbry for LEO Pharma.
- d. Charlie Lovan presented on Rinvoq for AbbVie.

7. Committee Discussion:

- a. Committee discussed data on combining various medications or situations that these medications should not be combined. JAK inhibitors should not be combined. Topical corticosteroids can be used for flares when they arise with systemic medications. Discussed combinations of topical therapies.
- b. Cole Sloan made a motion to consider at least one non-steroidal topical product, FDA approved, for pediatric atopic dermatitis as preferred on the PDL. McKay Robinson seconded. All in favor, none opposed, no abstention, motion passed. Michelle Hoffman was not present for this vote.
- c. Bryan Larson made a motion that all of the nonsteroidal agents for atopic dermatitis are appropriate for inclusion on the preferred drug list, without specifying preferred and nonpreferred, and not limited by route or administration. Susan Siegfreid seconded. All in favor, none opposed, no abstention, motion passed. Michelle Hoffman was not present for this vote.
- d. Susan Siegfreid made a motion to have a grandfathering clause for those already on a particular medication within this drug class; that they not be forced to take something else if the PDL changes from what it is currently prescribed. Clayton Grace seconded. All in favor, none opposed, no abstention, motion passed. Michelle Hoffman was not present for this vote.
- 8. Public Meeting Adjourned: Cole Sloan motioned to close the meeting. Bryan Larson seconded the motion. All in favor, none opposed, no abstention, motion passed. Michelle Hoffman not present.
- 9. Next meeting is scheduled for May 19, 2022 on the topic of Colony Stimulating Factors.