UTAH MEDICAID HEALTH INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (HIT) PROGRAM
Electronic Health Record (EHR) Meaningful Use Incentive Payments
Utah Medicaid is participating in the Medicaid Health Information Technology (HIT) Incentive Payment Program. This program is supported through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
Details regarding the program are available in the State Medicaid Health Information Technology Plan (SMHP). This document explains how Utah makes Electronic Health Record (EHR) incentive payments to eligible Medicaid providers and hospitals as they adopt, implement, upgrade, or demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology.
An Eligible Provider (EP) includes: Physicians, Dentists, Certified Nurse Midwives, Nurse Practitioners, and Optometrists. Physician assistants (PAs) are also eligible if they practice in a designated Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a PA. Hospital-based EPs may not participate. An EP is considered hospital-based if 90 percent or more of the EP's services are performed in a hospital inpatient or emergency room setting.
Medicaid EPs must meet patient volume criteria, providing services to those who are Medicaid eligible or, in some cases, needy individuals. EPs must identify a 90-day period in the previous calendar year or in the 12-month period prior to attestation in which at least 30 percent of their patient encounters are with Medicaid-eligible patients. Pediatricians are allowed to meet a lower threshold of 20 percent Medicaid patient volume. In some cases, it may be appropriate for an EP to use his or her entire clinic’s Medicaid patient volume as proxy. For additional details, please call the program hotline at (801) 538-6929.
All participating providers must have an EHR which is specifically certified for this incentive program. To view and search a list of certified EHR products please consult the Certified Health IT Product List.
To get started, you must first register with CMS. More information and resources to assist you in eligibility determination and patient volumes is available on the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs Website.
UPCOMING DATES FOR PARTICIPATING PROVIDERS AND HOSPITALS:
On May 16, 2016, there will be a temporary freeze while we prepare to transition to a new Medicaid incentive payment system (eMIPP). No attestations will be accepted during this freeze period.
Beginning July 1, 2016, providers and hospitals will be able to attest for all payment years. 2015 attestations will be accepted until September 30, 2016. Look for correspondence from Medicaid in July with instructions on how to revalidate your Utah Medicaid enrollment in the new system. This revalidation must be completed prior to accessing the incentive payment system.
Other Important Links Below:
Utah Public Health Reporting for Meaningful Use
For questions /or concerns, please call the HIT/EHR Hotline number at: (801) 538-6929 or send an e-mail to: EHRIncentive@utah.gov.