NCW Case Management Agency Incident Report Submission

Abundant Solutions, LLC Phone: (801) 554-8100 Fax: (385) 316-8840

Adult Case Management Phone: (385) 273-1456 randy@adultcasemanagement.com

Advocates for Independence Phone: (801) 679-6461 Fax: (801) 948-8001

Bear River Area Agency on Aging Phone: (435) 752-7242 taram@brag.utah.gov

Care Advocates Phone: (801) 722-4229 Fax: (801) 702-8002 jbylund@careadvocatesofutah.com

Davis County Health Department-Senior Services Phone: (801) 525-5050 Fax: (801) 525-5071

De Novo Case Managment Services Phone: (801) 263-1056 Fax: (801) 991-2903 carol@denoservices.org

Disabled Rights Action Committee (DRAC) Phone: (801) 685-8214 Fax: 801-665-1334 contact@disabledrightsutah.org

EnVision Quality Supports Phone: (801) 209-1357 Fax: (801) 874-1753 info@envisionquality.com

Five County Association of Governments Phone: (435) 673-3548 Fax: (435) 688-9088

NCW Case Management Agency Incident Report Submission

FlexCare (North) Phone: (801) 294-6747 Fax: (801) 424-6250 FlexCare (South) Phone: (801) 273-6366 Fax: (801) 424-6250

Generations Case Management Phone: (801) 979-2436 Fax: (385) 389-3632 kara@generationscm.org

MACS Plan Phone: (801) 625-3786 Fax: (801) 778-6818 lauraw@weberhs.org

MAG Phone: (801) 229-3839 Fax: (801) 229-3671

Roads To Independence Phone: (801) 612-3215 Fax: (801) 612-3732 andy@roadstoind.org

Salt Lake County Aging and Adult Services Phone: (385) 487-3270 Fax: (801) 487-6353 tnagahiro@slco.org

Southeastern Utah Association of Local Governments Phone: (435) 613-0036 Fax: (435) 637-5448

Utah Case Management Phone: (801) 407-0047 Fax: (888) 400-9232 ucm@utahcasemanagement.com

New Choices Waiver

Incident Reporting Protocol

Effective April 2020



NCW Program Office Cannon Health Building 288 North 1460 West Salt Lake City, UT 84116 Phone: 801-538-6155 Fax: 801-323-1586 E-mail: ncwincidents@utah.gov



Why Reporting is Necessary

State Law

In accordance with Utah State Law, professionals and the public are required to report instances of abuse, neglect and exploitation. All incidents of suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation shall be reported by the waiver coordinators and waiver providers to Adult Protective Services (APS) for investigation.

Adult Protective Services Intake Office :

1-800-371-7897

Submit an APS referral online at : https://daas.utah.gov/adult-protectiveservices/

Required for Medicaid Funding

New Choices Waiver requires the service provider to notify the client's case manager within 24 hours of discovery of the negative event.

Reportable Negative Events

All negative events experienced by NCW clients must be reported by NCW service providers to the case management agency within 24 hours of discovery. Incident reports should be sent using the fax or email specified by each agency, as listed on the other side of this brochure. Negative events include, but are not limited to:

- Death, regardless of the circumstances
- Changes in medical or functional status
- Falls with or without injury
- ER treatment for any reason
- Hospital admission for any reason
- Mental health decline
- Start or stop of hospice or home health services
- A move to a skilled nursing facility
- Any negative event that occurs at the client's place of residence or that occurs while the client is in the community
- Events described further in this brochure as possible Critical Incidents

Case management agencies must review all negative events experienced by NCW clients and report any possible Critical Incidents to the NCW Program Office within 24 hours of receiving notification.

Possible Critical Incidents

- 1. **Death** (unexpected or accidental)
- 2. Suicide attempt (does not include threats)
- 3. Incidents expected to receive media, legislative or public scrutiny
- 4. **Compromised living environment** requiring evacuation
- 5. **Person missing** at least 24 hours or, regardless of the amount of time, under suspicious or unexplained circumstances
- 6. **Injury requiring medical treatment** (includes burns, choking, aspiration, brain trauma, fractures, self-injurious behavior etc.)
- 7. Abuse (physical or sexual)
- 8. Neglect (caregiver neglect or self-neglect)
- 9. **Exploitation** (includes exploitation of funds or property and theft of medications)
- 10. Waste, fraud or abuse of Medicaid funds by client or provider
- 11. **Human rights violation** such as unauthorized use of restraints, seclusion, or infringement of personal privacy rights
- 12. **Medication/treatment error** requiring medical treatment (includes errors while the medication is in the control of the provider, client, or other individual)
- 13. Substance abuse requiring medical treatment
- 14. Law enforcement involvement resulting in charges being filed against the client or staff
- 15. PHI/PII security breach
- 16. Other serious health and safety concern