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1 MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION SERVICES   (Updated 2/1/14) 

 

Medical transportation services are optional services.  However, medical transportation services are 

mandatory for individuals eligible for Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) also 

known in Utah as Child Health Evaluation and Care (CHEC). 

Medical transportation services, that is the transport of a Medicaid recipient from point A to point B for 

medical services, is a benefit of the Utah Medicaid Program. Non-emergency medical transportation is 

only available to Traditional Medicaid recipients.  Emergency transportation services are available to all 

Medicaid recipients. 

This SECTION 2 manual explains the conditions of coverage. 

Personal Transportation: A Medicaid client is considered to have personal transportation when a 

parent, spouse, or dependent child in the household has a working, licensed personal car, truck, or vehicle 

that can be used for transportation to and from medical services.  See Chapter 3-1 of this manual. 

Determination of personal transportation is primarily determined by the DWS computer system (EREP) 

data.  If the information in the computer is incorrect, updated information must be obtained from the 

eligibility worker in order to authorize the correct mode of transportation.  Decisions for approval and 

denial are made based on available information. 

If a Traditional Medicaid client does not have personal transportation, and lives in the service area for 

Utah Transit Authority (UTA) or Cedar Area Transportation Services (CATS), they may receive a 

monthly bus pass by requesting it from their Department of Workforce Services (DWS) eligibility 

worker.  See Chapter 3-2 of this manual. 

If a Traditional Medicaid client cannot use bus service, but is able to use para-transit services and resides 

in the service area of UTA Flex Trans or CATS Dial-A-Ride, and if approved by the UTA or CATS, then 

Medicaid will pay for para-transit services.  See Chapter 3-3 of this manual. 

Vans and taxis may be available for non-emergency transportation (NEMT) where public transportation is 

unavailable or a qualifying disability exists precluding public transit. These services are provided through 

a single contracted transportation broker.  See Chapter 3-7 of this manual. 

A qualifying disability must be documented by a physician and be sufficiently severe to render the patient 

unable to use public transportation or public transportation does not carry the client to within a reasonable 

distance from the medical service. 

1 - 1    Credentials for Transportation Providers 

A medical transportation provider must be a Utah Medicaid transportation provider in order to be 

reimbursed. Some criteria for transportation providers are listed below. 

Taxi and van providers must have appropriate local licenses and be qualified under State and local law as 

transportation carriers. Taxi and van providers must have in their files for audit purposes a copy of each 

of the following documents: 

 Valid Utah Class “D” with Z attachment or a Utah Class “C” Driver’s license as required by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles for the type of vehicle driven. 

 Company liability insurance policy for an amount not less than $500,000 per incident and 

$1,000,000 aggregate. The Utah Department of Health, Attn: DMHF, Bureau of Medicaid 

Operations shall be named on the insurance as the additional insured. 
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 Current state registration for each company vehicle. 

 Current local business license. 

Ground ambulance providers must be licensed by the Utah Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency 

Medical Services for Ambulance Service Operation. 

Fixed wing and helicopter ambulance providers must have a Federal Aviation Administration Air Carrier 

Operating Certificate and be licensed by the Utah Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency Medical 

Services for Ambulance Service Operation. 

Fixed wing aircraft as common carriers must have a Federal Aviation Administration Air Carrier 

Operating Certificate. 

1 - 2  Verifying Medicaid Eligibility 

To ensure the recipient’s Medicaid eligibility, the transportation provider must see the recipient’s current 

Medicaid Identification Card. 

1 - 3  Transportation to Mental Health Services 

Most Medicaid recipients receive mental health services and transportation to those services from the 

community mental health center which has contracted with the Medicaid agency as a Prepaid Mental 

Health Plan (PMHP). The Medicaid Identification Card states the name of the PMHP in which the 

recipient is enrolled.  Traditional Medicaid recipients who are issued a bus pass for their non-emergency 

medical transportation may use the bus pass to get to mental health services. 

With the exception of Traditional Medicaid recipients issued a bus pass, PMHP’s are responsible to 

provide transportation to and from mental health appointments. Transportation providers shall contact the 

appropriate PMHP indicated on the recipient’s Medicaid card prior to providing non-emergency service 

to ensure payment. A list of telephone numbers is included with this manual in the General Attachments 

section. Providers who render emergency transportation must obtain approval from the PMHP within 24 

hours of service. Generally, the PMHP stipulates a provider will be reimbursed only when the provider 

has made a good faith effort to obtain approval from the PMHP within 24 hours of providing emergency 

services. 

PMHP’s are also responsible for inter-hospital transportation when a Medicaid recipient needs to be 

transported from a hospital emergency room or from a unit of an acute care hospital to a different hospital 

for inpatient psychiatric care, or when the PMHP has authorized an inpatient psychiatric admission and 

has determined that the Medicaid recipient needs to be transported to the hospital. 

Flex Trans transportation stickers purchased by Medicaid cannot be used for transportation to PMHP 

mental health services. 

Transportation to treatment for substance abuse is not covered under the PMHP contract.  Transportation 

needs for substance abuse can be met in the same way transportation is obtained for other Medicaid 

benefits.  See Chapter 3 of this manual. 

1 - 4  Clients NOT Enrolled in a Mental Health Plan (Fee-for-Service Clients) 

Medicaid recipients who are not enrolled in a Prepaid Mental Health Plan may receive medically 

necessary transportation to any mental health service covered by Medicaid. Refer to SECTION 1, Chapter 

5, Verifying Eligibility, for information about how to verify a recipient’s enrollment in a plan. 
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1 - 5  Monitoring 

Medicaid is required to monitor transportation service by reviewing trip tickets to verify appropriateness 

of travel. This is done on a random basis by requesting all Medicaid trip tickets for a specific period of 

time. 

 

1 - 6  Record Keeping 

Keep trip tickets which have a sticker attached or a prior authorization number on file in the provider’s 

office. These must be made available to Medicaid auditors upon request.  Do NOT send trip tickets with a 

sticker attached or a prior authorization number to Medicaid. 

 

1 - 7  Suspected Abuse 

Please refer cases of suspected abuse of transportation services to Medicaid 

1 - 8  Inducements Prohibited 

Providers may not engage in any activity which offers trade inducements to clients for choosing a 

particular provider for the provision of services. 

 

 

2 COVERED TRANSPORTATION SERVICES   (Updated 2/1/14) 

Medical transportation to obtain covered Medicaid services is a benefit for Medicaid recipients within (1) 

the limits specified in this chapter for any type of transportation and (2) the limits for the mode of 

transportation as specified in Chapter 3. 

Medicaid reimburses only for the transportation of qualified and eligible Medicaid recipients to and from 

medical appointments and services.  Transportation is covered for “loaded miles” only, that is, with the 

recipient on board.  Miles driven to or from the place where the recipient is picked up are “unloaded 

miles”.  Mileage without the recipient on board is not reimbursable. 

Transportation must be provided by the most reasonable, cost-effective method consistent with the 

recipient’s physical capabilities, the availability of medical services in the recipient’s community, and the 

availability of transportation services in the community. 

All conditions of coverage listed in the remainder of this chapter apply to any type of transportation 

service. 

 

2 - 1  Transportation to Medicaid-covered Service 

 

Medical transportation is a benefit ONLY to go to and from medical, dental, or other health care 

appointments, including Managed Care Plan (MCP) services, which are covered by Medicaid. 

Transportation for MCP services and in-state medical referrals is a covered benefit. 

Medicaid does not reimburse transportation to pick up prescriptions at a pharmacy unless the recipient is 

in route from a medical appointment.  New prescriptions shall be filled directly after the visit to the 
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prescribing medical practitioner as a segment of that trip.  Exceptions to this limitation require prior 

approval. 

 

2 - 2  Transportation to Nearest Provider 

 

All medical transportation, in both emergency and non-emergency situations, must be to the nearest 

appropriate Medicaid provider or appropriate facility which can provide the needed services.  (Physicians 

who make referrals to another provider are advised to refer Medicaid patients to the nearest provider or 

facility which can provide the services required.)  For transportation in emergency situations, refer to 

Chapter 4, Ambulance Transportation. 

2 - 3  Cost-Effective Transportation 

Medicaid will authorize the most cost effective transportation in all cases.  Medicaid retains the right to 

determine the most appropriate means of transportation based upon the information provided. Medicaid 

may allow transportation to a non-provider or for a non-Medicaid-covered service if this is more cost 

effective. 

 

2 - 4  Inpatient Hospital or Resident of Nursing Facility 

 

Medicaid covers emergency transportation by ambulance for a resident of nursing facility (nursing home). 

Non-emergency transportation for a Medicaid recipient who is an inpatient in a hospital or a resident of a 

long term care facility is not a benefit.  Refer to Chapters 4 - 2, Hospital-to-Hospital Transfers, and 4 - 3, 

Ambulance for Residents of a Nursing Facility. 

 

2 - 5  Patient in Need of Care En Route 

 

Only ambulance transportation includes the care of the Medicaid recipient while in transit.  The provider 

of transportation, such as a taxi or van, may refuse transport if the recipient must have care in route which 

requires ambulance service. 

 

2 - 6  Non-Emergency Transportation for After-Hours or Urgent Medical Care 

 

Transportation after hours is transportation occurring before 7:30 a.m. and after 5:30 p.m. Medicaid will 

not cover after hours transportation, except to urgent care as stated in Chapter 3 – 7, #12 below.  This 

includes dialysis patients who have requested early and late appointments to facilitate dialysis.  Dialysis 

must be scheduled between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to allow transportation during normal working hours.  

These afterhours transportation costs may be the responsibility of the client. 

 

3 SPECIFIC CRITERIA FOR TYPES OF NON-EMERGENCY TRANSPORTATION   (Updated 

2/1/14) 

 

Medical transportation benefits include the following types of transport: 

 personal transportation. 
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 a UTA bus pass or bus services through CATS. 

 special bus services (Flex Trans through UTA or Dial-A-Ride through CATS). 

 taxi cab service – Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided by a 

contractor as described in Chapter 3-7. 

 non-specialized van services – Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided 

by a contractor as described in Chapter 3-7. 

 specialized van services – Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided by a 

contractor as described in Chapter 3-7. 

 ambulance transportation. 

Regardless of the method of transportation, all transportation services are subject to the coverage 

policy in Chapter 2, Covered Services. The remainder of Chapter 3 gives specific policy for specific 

types of transportation. 

3 - 1  Mileage for Personal Transportation 

When no public transportation is available, a Medicaid recipient or a second party who transports the 

recipient to a covered health care appointment may be reimbursed for mileage.  If an eligible Medicaid 

recipient must travel outside their local area for Medicaid-covered services, and will be using their own 

vehicle or will be transported by a second party to the services, reimbursement for mileage is allowed to 

the closest appropriate provider.  The recipient must contact their DWS eligibility worker for 

authorization and reimbursement for this administrative travel. 

(Utah Administrative code. Human Services. Rule R414 “Medical Transportation”) 

Limitation 

All transportation services are subject to the coverage policy in Chapter 2, COVERED 

TRANSPORTATION SERVICES. 

3 - 2  Bus 

 

Bus transportation is available for a recipient who is currently eligible for Traditional Medicaid and lives 

in the UTA or CATS service area. 

Eligible recipients in the UTA service area receive a limited UTA bus pass issued by Medicaid with a 

specific number of rides each month. The bus pass is for MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION ONLY. The 

pass is to be used ONLY to go to and from medical, dental, or other health care appointments covered by 

Medicaid. 

The bus driver must mark off one of the rides on the bus pass for each trip, subject to the bus transfer 

policy. 

Eligible recipients living in the CATS service area will also receive a UTA bus pass to show to the driver, 

but CATS will transport them and bill Medicaid through a separate contract. 

Limitations 

All transportation services are subject to the coverage policy in Chapter 2, COVERED 

TRANSPORTATION SERVICES. 

The UTA bus pass may not be used on UTA Express Buses or the FrontRunner rail service. 

Recipient Eligibility for a UTA Bus Pass 
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UTA bus transportation may be provided for a Traditional Medicaid recipient who is able to walk to and 

from a bus stop. To obtain a pass, the recipient must contact their DWS eligibility worker. 

A.  Twelve rides are automatically put on the bus pass for each eligible rider on the Medicaid case. The 

DWS worker must establish that the recipient meets the three conditions listed below: 

1. The person who needs medical transportation is eligible for Traditional Medicaid. 

2. The person has or is expected to have appointment(s) for a health service covered by 

Medicaid or the MCP in which they are enrolled. 

3. The person has no other transportation to get to the medical appointment or obtain service. 

B.  Bus passes must be mailed and are not immediately available. Mailing takes at least 3 to 5 days to 

obtain the first bus pass. Subsequent bus passes are mailed to the recipient at the beginning of each 

month. 

C.  The bus pass is to be used ONLY by eligible Medicaid recipients to obtain Medicaid-covered 

services. The bus pass may NOT be used to go to work, school, shopping nor any other place that is 

not for a medical or dental service, nor to appointments with providers who do not accept Medicaid. 

If the recipient needs a ride to get to work, school, or places other than the doctor, he must ask the 

DWS eligibility worker for assistance in obtaining a different kind of bus pass. 

D.  Persons who are not eligible for Medicaid may not use the recipient’s bus pass, even if the person is 

a member of the recipient’s family.  However, some eligible recipients need a parent or attendant to 

accompany them due to age or cognitive condition.  An asterisk will appear by the name of all 

eligible individuals listed on the bus pass that are allowed to have a parent or attendant accompany 

them.  The bus pass will be punched for both riders. 

E. If an eligible individual needs more than the provided rides on the card, they should contact their 

DWS eligibility worker and request another bus pass be mailed to them for the month.  (Allow for 

3-5 days for the additional bus pass to be received). 

F.  Recipients are told to let their Medicaid eligibility worker know when they obtain personal 

transportation and no longer need a bus pass for medical transportation. 

 

3 - 3  Special Bus Services – Para-Transit (UTA Flex Trans and CATS Dial-A-Ride) 

Special bus services are available for residents of Salt Lake, Weber, Davis, and Utah counties through 

UTA Flex Trans.  Eligible recipients receive a Special Medical Transportation Card with peel-off stickers 

to obtain this transportation service once they are approved through the Flex Trans Mobility Center.  

These stickers are obtained by calling Medicaid and informing them of the approval for Flex Trans 

services.  (See Medicaid Member Guide for specific information). 

The bus provider must check Medicaid eligibility, and the recipient must have a Special Medical 

Transportation Card with a sticker for each trip.  The provider must collect a transportation sticker from 

the Special Medical Transportation Card to place on the trip ticket. Round trips require two stickers.  

Each rider must have his/her own Special Medical Transportation Card with a sticker for each trip. 

In the Cedar City area, special bus services are available through CATS Dial-A-Ride.  CATS does not 

issue stickers, but will bill Medicaid for the services based on their monthly encounter data for Medicaid-

eligible recipients. 
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Limitations 

A.  All transportation services are subject to the coverage policy in Chapter 2, COVERED 

TRANSPORTATION SERVICES. 

B.  Regular bus passes may not be used for special bus services.  The UTA bus pass may not be used 

on UTA Express Buses or the FrontRunner rail service. 

Billing 

Providers are encouraged to bill electronically.  Refer to SECTION 1, Billing Claims.  If necessary to bill 

using a paper claim form, use the General Medical Service claim form.  A copy of this form and 

instructions for completing the form are included with this manual. Medicaid requires the use of non-

emergency modifiers when billing for services.  Refer to Non-Emergency Transportation Procedure Code 

Modifiers. 

Recipient Eligibility for Special Bus Services 

Special bus services are available for residents of Salt Lake, Weber, Davis and Utah Counties, who have a 

physical inability to use regular bus service and need curb-to-curb services.  Before Medicaid can issue a 

Special Medical Transportation Card for special bus services, the recipient must have previously been 

approved by the transportation company for special bus services. 

Recipients shall first contact the local bus service company. The bus company requires the applicant to 

fill out a form explaining his or her disability. The disability must qualify under the Americans with 

Disability Act. The bus company will not provide special bus service unless the applicant qualifies. 

If the bus company approves a Medicaid recipient for special bus services, the recipient may then report 

the approval to Medicaid.  Medicaid can then issue a Special Medical Transportation Card for special bus 

services with the appropriate number of transportation stickers. 

 

3 - 4  Taxi  

 

Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided by a contractor.  See Chapter 3-7.  

 

3 - 5  Non-Specialized Van Services 

Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided by a contractor.  See Chapter 3-7. 

 

3 - 6  Specialized Van Services 

Beginning July 1, 2001, non-emergency transportation is provided by a contractor.  See Chapter 3-7. 

 

3 - 7  Non-Emergency Medical Transportation - Sole Source Contract 

 

Beginning February 1, 2014, non-emergency medical transportation is arranged through LogistiCare, our 

contracted medical transportation broker.  Excluded from the contract are UTA and CATS (bus and para-
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transit), transportation as stated in the Mental Health capitated contract, and the Tribal NEMT Grants for 

the Navajo, Confederated Tribes of Goshutes, and the Paiute Indian Tribe of Central Utah. 

The contractor may use the most reasonable and economical mode of transportation available and 

appropriate to the recipient’s medical condition that is safe and in accordance to state and federal laws. 

DEFINITIONS  

Curb to curb service means that client has the physical or mental ability to get himself from his 

residence door to the curb, and/or from the curb or parking lot to the medical facility door, for an 
appointment unaided by the driver. 

Door to door service means the client requires the driver’s aid because he does not have the 

physical or mental ability to get himself from the residence door to the curb, and/or from the curb or 

parking lot to the medical facility door for an appointment. 

Non-emergency transportation services are available under the conditions listed below. 

1. The recipient (hereafter “client”) must have a current Traditional Medicaid card and be currently 

eligible for Medicaid services. 

2. A client is not eligible for NEMT services when he or she (a) owns a licensed vehicle or (b) lives in 

a residence with a parent, spouse or dependent child who owns a licensed vehicle that is 

operational.  However, a client may be eligible when a physician verifies that the nature of the 

client’s medical condition or disability makes driving inadvisable, and there is no one at the 

residence that can drive the client to and from medical appointments. 

3. A client is not eligible for NEMT door-to-door services if public transportation is available in the 

client’s area, unless it is inappropriate based on their medical or mental condition as certified by a 

physician.  Clients who can use bus services to obtain medical services may obtain a bus pass by 

contracting their DWS eligibility worker. 

4. A client is not eligible for NEMT service if para-transit services through public transportation, such 

as Flex Trans or Dial-A-Ride, is available in the client’s area, and if the para-transit provider 

determines them eligible for their services. However, a client may be eligible when their medical 

condition requires door-to-door services because of physical inability to get from the curb or 

parking lot to the medical provider’s office facilities as certified by a physician. 

5. If a client has a disability (medical or mental) that prohibits them from riding the bus or using para-

transit services, the client must obtain a physician’s certificate indicating the need for 

transportation.  The “Physician’s Certificate” form is sent by LogistiCare to the physician selected 

by the client. 

A.  The client may be transported by LogistiCare services for up to four weeks while the 

physician’s certificate is being obtained.  After the four-week window, transportation services 

will be denied if a physician’s certificate is not received and on file verifying the client is not 

able to use bus or para-transit services. 

B.  If the physician’s certificate indicates the beneficiary requires curb-to-curb service, the 

beneficiary must apply for para-transit services (UTA Flex Trans or CATS Dial-A-Ride). If 

the beneficiary qualifies for para-transit services, he or she is not eligible for LogistiCare 

transportation services. The beneficiary may be transported by LogistiCare for up to six 

weeks while a determination for para-transit services is made. 
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C.  If the client is denied service by Flex Trans and/or Dial-A-Ride, and the physician’s 

certificate indicates he or she needs door-to-door service, the client may be eligible for 

LogistiCare services. 

7. The transportation is limited to obtaining a Medicaid covered medical service. 

8. The transportation is limited to the nearest appropriate Medicaid provider. 

9. Transportation for picking up prescriptions is not covered unless in route to or from a medical 

appointment. 

10. Destinations outside of Utah are covered up to 120 miles one-way outside of the Utah border.  

11. Other applicable provisions of the manual are incorporated into this section including Chapter 6, 

Non-covered Services. 

12. Urgent Care 

A.  Urgent care is defined as non-emergency medical care which is considered by the prudent 

lay-person as medically safe to wait for medical attention within the next 24 hours. Urgent 

care does not require immediate medical attention. Waiting up to 24 hours will not be life 

threatening, cause permanent malfunction or disability. If immediate medical attention is 

required, it is considered an emergency and must be transported by ambulance. 

Transportation for urgent care must not require medical treatment during transit; such 

transportation must be provided by an ambulance. Usually recipients requesting urgent care 

will be transported to the nearest provider capable of providing the care, unless otherwise 

directed by a physician. Use of a hospital emergency room for non-emergency use medical 

care is strongly discouraged. 

B. Weekdays, business hours – 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM: Transportation for urgent care is 

available during weekday business hours of 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM and is commonly provided 

to the recipient’s physician office. If directed by the physician (or if the physician is 

unavailable), transportation will be to the nearest urgent care facility or walk-in clinic. If an 

urgent care facility or walk-in clinic is not available, the transport may be to the nearest 

hospital emergency room. Those clients who have managed care will be transported for 

urgent care as directed by the plan. 

C.  After business hours – 5:30 PM to 11:00 PM: Transportation for urgent care is available 

between 5:30 PM and 11:00 PM weekdays to the nearest available urgent care facility or 

walk-in clinic. Transportation to the nearest hospital emergency room for non-emergency 

medical care is strongly discouraged and will be provided only if there are no other open 

medical facilities capable of providing the needed urgent care. Those clients who have 

managed care will be transported for urgent care as directed by the plan. 

D.  Weekends or Holidays – 8:30 AM to 11:00PM: Transportation for urgent care is available 

between 8:30 AM to 11:00 PM weekends or holidays to the nearest available urgent care 

facility or walk-in hours clinic. Transportation to the nearest hospital emergency room for 

non-emergency medical care is strongly discouraged and will be provided only if there are no 

other open medical facilities capable of providing the needed urgent care. Those clients who 

have managed care will be transported for urgent care as directed by the plan. 
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E.  After 11 PM for all days: Because it is medically safe to wait, transportation for urgent care 

after 11:00 PM will be provided the next morning after 8:30 AM and will be provided to the 

recipient’s physician’s office unless directed by the physician (or if the physician is 

unavailable) to an urgent care facility, walk-in clinic, or the nearest hospital emergency room. 

Transportation to a hospital emergency room for non-emergency medical care will only be 

made if there are no other open facilities capable of performing the needed medical care. 

Those clients who have managed care will be transported for urgent care as directed by the 

plan. 

F.  Releases from a Hospital Emergency Room: Transportation following a release from a 

hospital emergency room for emergency treatment is covered. Transportation following a 

release from a hospital emergency room after non-emergency medical care is not covered 

unless the Medicaid contracted provider or ambulance has provided the transportation to the 

ER. Those clients who have managed care will be transported as directed by the plan. 

13.  Weight and Size Limitations 

A.  If the combined weight of the client and the power wheelchair exceeds the lift capacity as 

recommended by the lift manufacturer, and the client possess the strength and physical ability 

to “transfer,” aided or unaided, they are not eligible for Medicaid transportation by the 

Medicaid transportation contractor unless the client is transported in a manual standard wheel 

chair. Such manual wheelchair may be provided by Medicaid or already be in the possession 

of the client. 

B.  If the combined weight of the client and the power wheelchair exceeds the lift capacity as 

recommended by the lift manufacturer, and the client does not possess the strength and 

physical ability to “transfer,” aided or unaided, as certified by a physician or if they refuse to 

transfer to an appropriate manual chair, they are not eligible for transportation by para-transit 

or LogistiCare. Medicaid may offer alternate safe transportation, such as an ambulance with 

the client in a supine position as no other safe transportation means are available.  A 

Medicaid Transportation Program Manager should be contacted in these circumstances for 

approval for ambulance transport, prior to the services being provided. 

 

 

4 AMBULANCE TRANSPORTATION 

Ambulance transportation is the transport and the medical care of the patient while in transit. Only 

ambulance transportation includes the care of the patient while in transit. All transportation services are 

subject to the coverage policy in Chapter 2, COVERED TRANSPORTATION SERVICES. 

Ambulance services (ground, air or water) are covered for transportation in the following circumstances: 

A.  when the life of the recipient is in immediate danger 

B.  when life support equipment or medical care is required during travel 

C.  when other means of transportation would endanger the recipient's health or be medically 

contraindicated. 
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Ambulance services may be provided from the recipient's residence or the scene of an accident to the 

nearest accessible medical facility equipped, staffed and prepared to received emergency cases and 

administer emergency care appropriate to the needs of the patient. 

Medicaid will reimburse for first aid calls when the patient is not transported. 

4 - 1  Reimbursement for Ground Ambulance 

Program coverage is limited to base rate billed with the appropriate modifiers, mileage for the loaded 

ambulance only, oxygen and airway management, and when necessary, waiting time. Charges for 

unloaded mileage are not reimbursable. Include the appropriate modifiers on the claim as described in 

Chapter 7 - 6, Ambulance Procedure Code Modifiers. 

The base rate includes but is not limited to: 

a. transportation 

b. control of bleeding 

c. splinting of fractures 

d. treatment of shock 

e. CPR and defibrillation 

f. re-usable supplies 

g. administration of medications: IV, IM, or oral 

 

4 - 2  Hospital-to-Hospital Transfers 

1.  Prior authorization is required for non-emergency transportation between hospitals for Medicaid-

eligible clients. 

A.  The transfer must be medically necessary; and 

B.  The original hospital must have discharged the client; and 

C.  The criteria listed below must also be met. 

(1) The necessary services cannot be obtained at the initial admitting hospital and the 

transfer is determined to be to the nearest hospital with facilities for appropriate care. 

This includes both in-state and out-of-state hospitals. 

(2) When a patient is transferred between two hospitals for continuing treatment (the 

patient remains at Hospital A and is transferred daily to Hospital B for treatment), the 

transfers are the responsibility of Hospital A. Medicaid will not cover such transfers. 

(3) Medicaid does not cover transport from a hospital capable of treating the patient to 

another hospital because the patient and/or his or her family prefers a specific 

hospital or physician. 

2. Non-emergency transfers between in-state facilities are covered if the patient is discharged from the 

originating facility. This includes transfers between long term care facilities and hospitals. Prior 

authorization is not required. A discharge indicates the facility will not receive the per diem or 
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DRG payments for the dates out of the facility and the patient must be readmitted if returning to the 

same facility. 

3. Prior authorization is required for non-emergency air transportation transfers between institutions. 

The recipient’s medical condition must be such that transportation by either basic or advance life 

support ground ambulance is not medically appropriate. 

4. The medical necessity and reason for transport must be documented by both the discharging 

hospital and the ambulance provider. Transportation must be to the nearest provider which can 

provide the needed services. Medicaid reviews these claims on a post-payment basis. 

5. Under special circumstances, a recipient may be transferred from a highly specialized hospital 

(Trauma, Burn, Neonatal, Pediatric Units), after having been stabilized, to a less specialized 

hospital which is closer to the recipient's home. For example, a child at Primary Children's Medical 

Center may be transferred to a rural hospital closer to home. Medicaid will decide the appropriate 

transportation according to the needs of the patient. 

Non-covered Ambulance Transportation 

1. Round trip ambulance services from one hospital to another hospital or clinic to obtain necessary 

diagnostic and/or therapeutic services when the recipient remains registered as an inpatient at the 

originating facility is not covered. The originating facility receives reimbursement for these services 

under its DRG payment and is responsible to reimburse the transportation provider. A 

transportation provider may not be separately reimbursed for this type of trip. 

2. Ambulance transportation services provided to Medicaid recipients transferring between hospitals, 

or between a freestanding facility and a hospital, for purposes other than medical need, are not a 

covered benefit. For example, transfer to another hospital because of the patient’s and/or his 

family’s preference, or because a particular physician practices at another hospital, or for 

convenience, is not a covered benefit. 

 

4 - 3  Ambulance for Residents of a Nursing Facility 

Ambulance service is only covered separately by Medicaid for a recipient residing in a long term care 

facility, nursing home or institution when emergency transportation is required. The ambulance service 

must be documented as an emergency by the physician or director of nursing. 

Non-emergency or routine transportation for a resident of a nursing facility must be provided by the 

facility in which the person resides. 

 

4 - 4  Billing 

 

Providers are encouraged to bill electronically. Refer to SECTION 1, Billing Claims. If necessary to bill 

using a paper claim form, use the CMS-1500 (08/05) claim form. Medicaid requires the use of ambulance 

modifiers with the base-rate code when billing for services. Refer to Ambulance Procedure Code 

Modifiers. 

Multiple Riders 

If more than one recipient is transported by ambulance from the same point of origin to the same point of 

delivery in the same ambulance, compute the charges as explained below. 
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A "full" rate (base rate plus mileage) for the first person, plus fifty percent of said full rate for each 

additional person. 

 

4 - 5      Air Ambulance 

Air transit may be emergency or non-emergency, including fixed wing or helicopter. Air ambulance 

service is covered in one of four circumstances: 

1. The recipient's condition warrants rapid transportation, and the location of the recipient is 

inaccessible by land vehicle; 

2. The recipient must be transported a great distance and time is a factor; 

3. The recipient's condition, combined with other obstacles, justifies air (versus ground) ambulance; 

4.       The cost combined with other factors makes air transport more cost effective. 

For rates, refer to Chapter 4 - 7, Air and Water Transit Rates. 

Program coverage is limited to base rate billed with the appropriate modifiers, mileage for the loaded 

ambulance only, oxygen and airway management, and when necessary, waiting time. Charges for 

unloaded mileage are not reimbursable. Include the appropriate modifiers on the claim as described in 

Chapter 7 - 6, Ambulance Procedure Code Modifiers. 

 

4 - 6  Water Ambulance 

Water ambulance is covered in two circumstances: 

1. the recipient's location is inaccessible by ground or air ambulance, or 

2. ground or air ambulance is unavailable. 

For rates, refer to Chapter 4 - 7, Air and Water Transit Rates. 

Program coverage is limited to base rate billed with the appropriate modifiers, mileage for the loaded 

ambulance only, oxygen and airway management, and when necessary, waiting time. Charges for 

unloaded mileage are not reimbursable. Include the appropriate modifiers on the claim as described in 

Chapter 7- 6, Ambulance Procedure Code Modifiers. 

 

4 - 7  Air and Water Transit Rates 

Air and water transport rates are negotiated with the Medicaid Transportation Policy Consultant at the 

time of prior authorization for transport using procedure Code A0140, non-emergency air travel. 

 

 

5 OUT OF STATE MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION, PER DIEM and BORDER TOWNS 

1.  Out of state transportation: 
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Prior authorization is required for non-emergency transportation to and/or from medical services 

outside the State of Utah, even when the recipient has a referral for the health care service. 

Medicaid, in consultation with the physician and other medical professionals, decides the most 

appropriate access to care for the patient. Transportation must be medically necessary and for 

medical services which are not available within a reasonable distance within the state. 

2.  Per Diem (In state and within 120 miles out-of-state): 

If out of area transportation is approved and an overnight stay is required outside of a medical 

facility while receiving Medicaid covered medical services, a per diem to be applied toward the 

cost of meals and lodging may also be authorized. 

A.  When a Medicaid-eligible child requires the out of area services and a parent must be 

instructed on meeting the medical needs of the child, transportation costs and per diem for 

meals and lodging may be authorized for one parent to accompany the child. 

B.  When there is medical necessity for attendant services, transportation costs and per diem for 

an attendant may be authorized. A parent or guardian can qualify as the attendant, providing 

they are able to provide the required services for the patient’s demonstrated medical need. 

Salary may be included if the attendant is not a member of the patient’s family. Attendant 

services are covered only for the period of time the attendant is responsible for hands-on care 

of the recipient. Stand-by time is not covered. 

C.  Per diem payments, to be applied toward the cost of meals and lodging, shall be the lesser of 

and not exceed $50. 

3.  Border Towns: 

Transportation to providers in some border towns, though out-of-state, may be considered in-state 

and covered under the policies of Chapter 2, COVERED TRANSPORTATION SERVICES, and 

Chapter 3, SPECIFIC CRITERIA FOR TYPES OF NONEMERGENCY TRANSPORTATION. 

For clarification of border towns, call Medicaid Information. 

 

5 - 1  Out of State Medical Transportation, Per Diem (Beyond 120 miles of the Utah border) 

 

Transportation for out-of-state medical services is covered if the services are unavailable or cannot be 

performed in Utah. The transportation is limited to coverage for Medicaid services performed by 

Medicaid providers and must be prior authorized. The transportation will be the most cost effective, but 

appropriate for the recipient’s medical conditions. If the transportation is within 120 miles of the border it 

is excluded from this policy, but covered by the transportation contractor for in state transportation. 

Transportation covers the recipient and a parent or care giver, if the recipient is a child under the age of 

20 years. Transportation may include an attendant for adults age 20 and older, if the recipient’s medical 

condition requires attendant services while out of state. All transportation must be prior authorized. 

If commercial transportation by ground or air carrier is used, it will be set up and paid directly by 

Medicaid. If transportation by personal vehicle is possible and used, the reimbursement is the state rate, or 

$0.18 per mile. The reimbursement for bus, shuttle, or medically necessary taxi trips to and from the 

airport, the medical facility, and/or place of lodging are limited to $30 per ride and a maximum cap of 

$120 per out-of-state medical service visit or trip and receipts must be submitted with the request for 

reimbursement. 
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A form has been developed to assist providers with submitting all required information with the prior 

authorization request.  The form is posted on the Medicaid website in the “Forms” section and is titled, 

Out of State Travel Cover Sheet. 

 

5 - 2  Lodging and Meal Per Diem Associated with Out-of-State Transportation (Beyond 120 miles of the 

Utah border) and Out-of-Area 

 

Overnight stays and meals associated with out-of-state and out-of-area travel may be allowed. A per diem 

for meals and overnight lodging may be authorized for the recipient, except for the days the recipient is 

receiving inpatient services. If the recipient is a child age 20 years and under, an additional per diem for 

meals and lodging may be authorized for a parent or care giver. If the recipient is an adult age 18 and 

older, an additional per diem for meals and lodging may be authorized for the attendant, but only for the 

days the attendant is giving care and attending to the recipient. 

Traditional Medicaid recipients must provide verification of the lodging and food costs to receive 

reimbursement.  The Department shall reimburse actual lodging and food costs or $50.00 per night, 

whichever is less.  Reimbursement for food costs shall be no more than $25.00 of the $50.00 overnight 

reimbursement rate. 

Nights staying with family or friends and associated meals are not eligible for the per diem. 

Reimbursement for lodging and meals is not available for the parent or care giver during the time the 

recipient is an inpatient in a medical facility. 

A form has been developed to assist providers with submitting all required information with the prior 

authorization request.  The form is posted on the Medicaid website in the “Forms” section and is titled, 

Out of Area Food and Lodging Reimbursement Cover Sheet. 

5 - 3  Limitations 

 

a. Receipts must accompany requests for reimbursement for lodging and any ground transportation 

except personal vehicle mileage. 

b. Requests for reimbursement for transportation services must be made within one year of the date of 

the service. 

c. All out-of-state transportation, lodging or meals must be prior authorized in order to be reimbursed. 

 

6 NON-COVERED SERVICES 

 

All conditions of Chapters 2, COVERED TRANSPORTATION SERVICES, and 3, SPECIFIC 

CRITERIA FOR TYPES OF NON-EMERGENCY TRANSPORTATION, must be met in order for 

Medicaid to reimburse for medical transportation. Medical transportation is not a covered benefit when 

transportation is requested to obtain services which include, but are not limited to, the following: 

A.  Day care. 

B.  School or any educational service. 

C.  Non-Medicaid providers, unless prior authorized by Medicaid. 
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D.  Non-Medicaid services, unless prior authorized by Medicaid. This includes visitation by relatives to 

a Medicaid patient in a hospital or other facility. 

E.  Non-emergency transportation for Medicaid recipients currently residing in a nursing facility or 

inpatient hospital. 

F.  Non-emergency transportation for medical services out of the general area of residence where 

services are available within the area. 

G.  Transportation covered under the recipient’s Prepaid Mental Health Plan. 

H.  Transportation, either emergency and non-emergency, to providers other than to the nearest 

provider due to patient preference. 

I.  Transportation for transplant or triage teams is not covered. 

K.  Non-emergency transportation for a nursing home patient. 

L.  Multiple trips for medical appointments on the same day may not be a covered benefit. 

M.  Obtaining prescription refills at a pharmacy which offers delivery service. 

 

 

7 PROCEDURE CODES 

Reimbursement is made for loaded miles only. 

 

Effective January 1, 2013, procedure codes with accompanying criteria, comments, and limitations have 

been removed from the provider manual and are now found on the Coverage and Reimbursement Lookup 

Tool on the Medicaid website at:  www.health.utah.gov/medicaid.  

 
7 - 1  Non-Emergency Transportation Procedure Code Modifiers 

All claims billed to Medicaid for non-emergency transportation must have a two-digit modifier. The 

modifier may be any combination of the single number codes listed below. The first number indicates 

origin of transportation. The second number indicates destination of transportation. 

Location Code 

Recipient’s home 1 

Hospital 2 

Practitioner’s office 3 

Pharmacy 4 

Lab or X-ray 5 

Nursing Home 6 

Medical Supplies 7 

Other 8 

 

7 - 2  Ambulance Procedure Code Modifiers 

http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid
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All claims billed to Medicaid for emergency transportation by ambulance must have a two-letter modifier. 

The modifier may be any combination of the one-letter codes listed below. The first letter indicates origin 

of transportation. The second letter indicates destination of transportation. 

Code Location 

D Diagnostic or therapeutic site other than “P” or “H” when these are used as origin codes 

E Residential, domiciliary, custodial facility 

G Hospital-based dialysis facility (hospital or hospital-related) 

H Hospital 

I Site of transfer (e.g. airport or helicopter pad) between modes of ambulance transport 

J Non-hospital-based dialysis facility 

N Skilled nursing facility 

P Physician’s office 

R Residence 

S Scene of an accident or acute event 

X (Destination code only) intermediate stop at physician’s office on the way to the hospital 
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