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1 GENERAL POLICY  

Hospice care comes from the recognition that a client’s terminal condition warrants a change in focus from 

curative care to palliative care.  Hospice care may be provided only by a hospice provider licensed by the 

Department, that is Medicare certified in accordance with 42CFR418, and that is a Medicaid provider. 

Hospice care services are authorized by Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-3, and Pub L. No. 111 148 of the 

Affordable Care Act. It implements Medicaid hospice care services as found in 42 U.S.C. 1396d(o).  When 

a state elects to offer hospice services, Medicaid is required to provide hospice services in the same 

amount, duration, and scope as Medicare services and at the same payment rate. 

Effective March 1, 1989, the Utah Medicaid program added hospice care as a covered Medicaid service.  

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice clients) 

must be prior authorized. 

 

 

1 - 1 Definitions  

Hospice care means care provided to terminally ill clients by a hospice provider. 

Hospice provider means a public agency or private organization that is licensed under the provisions of 

R432-750, is primarily engaged in providing care to terminally ill individuals, meets the Medicare 

conditions of participation for hospice, and has a valid provider agreement with the Division of Medicaid 

and Health Financing (DMHF). This provider agreement must be separate and distinct from other provider 

agreements. 

Pediatric Hospice Provider means a public agency or private organization that has met all the conditions 

to become a Medicaid hospice provider and that has also submitted the necessary additional documents to 

enroll as a pediatric hospice provider with Utah Medicaid.  Additional documents include a signed copy 

of the Pediatric Hospice Provider Attachment and a copy of the provider’s training curriculum to be 

utilized when training all paid and unpaid staff that will provide care to clients who are under 21 years of 

age.   

Terminally ill means a medical prognosis that the client’s life expectancy is six months or less if the 

terminal illness runs its normal course.  

Physician means a doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is licensed by the state of Utah. 

Attending physician means a doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is designated by the client at the time 

he or she elects to receive hospice care as having primary responsibility for the determination and delivery 

of the client’s medical care.  

Adult means a hospice client who is at least 21 years of age or older. 

 

Cap period means the 12 month period ending October 31 used in the application of the cap on 

reimbursement for inpatient hospice care. 
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Employee means an employee of the hospice provider or, if the hospice provider is a subdivision of an 

agency or organization, an employee of the agency or organization who is appropriately trained and 

assigned to the hospice unit.  “Employee” includes a volunteer under the direction of the hospice 

provider. 

 

Legal Representative (or representative) means an individual who has been authorized under state law 

to make health care decisions, including initiating, continuing, refusing, or terminating medical 

treatments for a client who is unable to make health care decisions. 

 

1 - 2 Eligible Recipients  

Hospice care is available to categorically and medically needy individuals under Medicaid. 

  

1 - 3 Access Requirements    

Hospice care may be provided only by a hospice provider licensed by the Utah Department of Health 

(Department), that is Medicare certified in accordance with 42 CFR Part 418, and that is enrolled to be a 

Medicaid provider.   

A hospice provider must have a valid Medicaid provider agreement in place prior to initiating hospice care 

for Medicaid clients.  The Medicaid provider agreement will be made effective on the date a complete 

Medicaid provider application is received by the Department unless the hospice provider requests an 

earlier effective date to align with the date of Medicare hospice certification.  Even if a provider requests 

retroactive enrollment, the Department will only approve retroactive enrollment up to 180 days earlier 

than the date when the complete Medicaid application is received by the Department. 

At the time of a change of ownership, the previous owner's provider agreement terminates as of the 

effective date of the change of ownership. 

The Department accepts all waivers granted to hospice agencies by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services as part of the Medicare certification process. 

Hospice agencies participating in the Medicaid program shall provide hospice care in accordance with the 

requirements of 42 CFR Part 418. 

A client who is terminally ill may obtain hospice care.  Hospice services must meet the requirements 

relating to certification of terminal illness and the client’s election of hospice care, as described in this 

chapter.  

A.  Certification of Terminal Illness  

1. The hospice provider must obtain written certification by a physician that a client is terminally 

ill.  The certification of a terminal condition must be based on a face-to-face assessment by a 

physician conducted no more than 90 days prior to the date of hospice enrollment.  Hospice 

providers may not seek Medicaid reimbursement for hospice care until the date of a physician’s 

certification. 
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2. Underlying conditions may not be used as qualifying terminal diagnoses for hospice care.  

Hospice agencies must use ICD-9 and ICD-10 coding guidelines and code first the condition 

determined by the certifying physician to be the most contributory to a prognosis of six months 

or less.  Principal diagnoses of ‘debility’, ‘adult failure to thrive’, and other underlying 

conditions such as nutritional deficiencies will not be accepted as meeting the eligibility criteria 

for Medicaid hospice care if the patient does not have at least one additional, another, or 

coexisting principal terminal diagnosis that is more definitive.  Underlying conditions can be 

reported as other diagnoses contributing to the prognosis of six months or less.     

i. If written certification is not obtained within two calendar days following the initiation of 

hospice care, a verbal certification may be made within two days following the initiation of 

hospice care, with a written certification not later than eight days after care is initiated. 

Payment begins with the day of certification.  An appropriate entry in the client’s medical 

record must be made and filed as soon as the oral certification is obtained. 

B. Election of Hospice  

1. In order to enroll in Medicaid hospice care, a client who meets the eligibility requirements must 

elect hospice care by filing a written election statement with a particular hospice provider.  

Election statements are designed and supplied to clients by hospice providers and must include 

the following elements: 

a) Identification of the particular hospice that will provide the hospice care, 

b) The client’s (or legal representative’s) acknowledgment that he or she has been given a full 

understanding of the palliative rather than curative nature of hospice care as it relates to the 

client’s terminal illness, 

c) For adult clients, acknowledgment that the client waives certain Medicaid services, 

d) Acknowledgment that the client (or legal representative) may revoke the election of the 

hospice benefit at any time in the future.  Adults must also acknowledge that revocation of 

hospice benefits will result in restoration of Medicaid benefits that were waived at the time 

of hospice election, and 

e) Signature of the client or legal representative.  

2. Pediatric hospice providers must have distinct election statements designed specifically for 

clients under 21 years of age.  This election statement must inform pediatric clients and their 

legal representatives that by electing hospice care, they do not forfeit any other benefit that 

would otherwise be available to them through the Medicaid State Plan.  This election statement 

must also inform them that upon turning 21 years of age, they will no longer have concurrent 

care benefits and will be subject to the rules governing adults who have elected Medicaid 

hospice care. 

3. If the client is not physically or mentally capable or if the client is under 18 years of age, an 

election statement may also be filed by a representative authorized by state law to elect or 

revoke hospice care or terminate medical care on behalf of a terminally ill individual.  
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4. Medicaid payment for hospice care is not available prior to the day that the election was filed.  

The effective date of the election may be the first day of hospice care or a later date, but may be 

no earlier than the date of the election statement. 

5. An election to receive hospice care remains effective through the initial election period and 

through the subsequent election periods without a break in care as long as the patient: 

a. remains in the care of a hospice; 

b. does not revoke the election; and 

c. is not discharged from the hospice. 

6. A client may elect to receive hospice care during one or more of the following election periods: 

a. an initial 90-day period; 

b. a subsequent 90-day period; or 

c. an unlimited number of subsequent 60-day periods 

7. Since Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical 

prognosis to live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course, when an adult 

patient (21 years of age or older) reaches 12 consecutive months in hospice care, an independent 

face to face physician review is required.   Independent reviews are subsequently required every 

12 months thereafter if the patient continues to receive extended hospice care.  12 consecutive 

months means 12 months in a row wherein Medicaid hospice care was provided during any 

portion of each of the 12 months. 

C. Dual eligibility 

If a client is dually enrolled in Medicare and Medicaid, he or she must enroll in both Medicare and 

Medicaid hospice care.  The client must receive hospice coverage under Medicare.  Medicaid is 

available to pay for Medicare coinsurance and/or room and board for clients who are residing in a 

Medicare-certified nursing facility, an intermediate care facility for people with intellectual 

disabilities (ICF/ID), or a freestanding hospice facility. 

Rights Waived to Some Medicaid Services for Adult Clients  

1. For the duration of an adult client’s hospice enrollment, the client must waive all rights to 

Medicaid coverage for the following services: 

a)   hospice care provided by a hospice other than the hospice designated by the client, 

unless provided under arrangements made by the designated hospice; and 

b)   any Medicaid services that are related to the treatment of the terminal condition for 

which hospice care was elected or a related condition or are duplicative of hospice care 

except for services: 

i. provided by the designated hospice; 
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ii. provided by another hospice under arrangements made by the designated 

hospice; and 

iii. provided by the client's attending physician if the services provided are not 

otherwise covered by the payment made for hospice care. 

2. If an adult client seeks medical treatment for illnesses or conditions that are not related to the 

client’s terminal illness, this type of treatment is covered by Medicaid when provided by the 

appropriate provider.  Hospice providers are not responsible to reimburse medical care providers 

for treatment that is unrelated to the client’s terminal condition.   

E. Concurrent Care for Clients Under 21 Years of Age 

1. For the duration of hospice care, clients under the age of 21 years old may only receive hospice 

care which is provided by the designated hospice, or that has been provided under arrangements 

made by the designated hospice. 

2. Clients under 21 years of age who elect to receive Medicaid hospice care may also receive concurrent 

Medicaid State Plan treatment for the terminal illness and other related conditions.   

3. For life prolonging treatment rendered to clients under 21 years of age, Medicaid will reimburse the 

appropriate Medicaid enrolled medical care providers directly through the usual and customary 

Medicaid billing procedures. Hospice providers are not responsible to reimburse medical care 

providers for life prolonging treatment rendered to hospice clients who are under 21 years of age. 

4. Each pediatric hospice provider will develop a training curriculum to ensure that the hospice’s 

interdisciplinary team members, including volunteers, are adequately trained to provide hospice 

care to clients who are under 21 years of age.  All staff members and volunteers providing pediatric 

hospice care must receive the training prior to provision of services, and at least annually 

thereafter.  At a minimum, the training will include the following pediatric specific elements: 

(a)  Growth and development 

(b)  Pediatric pain and symptom management 

(c)  Loss, grief and bereavement for pediatric families and the child 

(d)  Communication with family, community and interdisciplinary team. 

(e)  Psycho-social/spiritual care of children 

(f)  Coordination of care with the child’s community 

(g)  The Hospice Program will adopt the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization’s 

(NHPCO) Standards for Hospice Programs for their pediatric care. 

 

F. Plans of Care 

 A plan of care must be established by the interdisciplinary group. At least one of the persons 

involved in development the initial plan must be a nurse or physician. The plan of care must be 

consistent with the hospice philosophy of care. This plan must be established on the same day as the 

face-to-face assessment and certification if the day of assessment and certification is to be a covered 

day of hospice care. 

G. Revocation of Hospice Benefits 
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  The client (or legal representative) may revoke the election of hospice care at any time. To revoke 

the election of hospice care, the client or representative must give the hospice a signed statement 

revoking the election of hospice care for the remainder of that election period with the date 

revocation is to be effective. The individual forfeits the remainder of the election period.  Signed 

statements must include the following information: 

1. a signed statement that the client or representative revokes the client's election for Medicaid 

coverage of hospice care; 

2. the date that the revocation is to be effective, which may not be earlier than the date that the 

revocation is made; and 

3. an acknowledgment signed by the patient or the patient's representative that the patient will 

forfeit Medicaid hospice coverage for any remaining days in that election period. 

 

Upon revocation of the election of Medicaid coverage of hospice care for a particular election 

period, a client: 

1. is no longer covered under Medicaid for hospice care; 

2. resumes Medicaid coverage for the benefits waived (for adult clients); and 

3. may at any time elect to receive hospice coverage for any other hospice election periods that 

he or she is eligible to receive. 

 

If an election has been revoked, the client or his representative may at any time file an election in 

accordance with this rule for any other election period that is still available to the client. 

 

Hospice providers may not encourage adult clients to temporarily revoke hospice services solely for 

the purpose of avoiding financial responsibility for Medicaid services that have been waived at the 

time of hospice election. 

 

 

H. Change in Hospice Provider 

A client or representative may change, once in each election period, change the designation of the 

particular hospice from which hospice care will be received.  The change of the designated hospice 

is not a revocation of the election for the period in which it is made. To change the designation of 

hospice provider, the client must file a statement with the hospice provider from which care has been 

received and with the newly designated hospice provider on or before the effective date of the 

change.  The statement must include the following information: 

1. the name of the hospice provider from which the client has received care; 

2. the name of the hospice provider from which the client plans to receive care; and 

3. the date the change is to be effective. 

 

I. Provider Initiated Discharge from Hospice Care 

 

1. Hospice providers may not initiate discharge of a patient from hospice care except in the following 

circumstances: 

a) The client moves out of the hospice provider’s geographic service area or transfers to another 

hospice provider by choice. 

b) The hospice provider determines that the patient no longer meets the eligibility criteria for 

hospice. 
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c) The hospice provider determines that the client’s behavior (or the behavior of other persons 

in the patient’s home) is disruptive, abusive, or uncooperative to the extent that delivery of 

care to the client or the ability of the hospice to operate effectively is seriously impaired.  This 

type of discharge is called “for cause.”  When it becomes necessary to discharge for cause, 

the following steps must be taken prior to discharge: 

i. Advise the client that a discharge for cause is being considered, 

ii. Make a diligent effort to resolve the problem(s) that the patient's behavior or situation 

presents, 

iii. Ascertain that the discharge is not due to the client’s use of necessary hospice services, 

iv. Document the problem and efforts to resolve the problem in the client’s medical 

record, 

Before discharging a patient for any reason, the hospice provider must obtain a physician's 

written discharge order from the hospice provider's medical director.  If a patient also has an 

attending physician, the hospice provider must consult the physician before discharge and the 

attending physician must include the review and decision in the discharge documentation. 

 

A client, upon discharge from the hospice during a particular election period, for reasons other 

than immediate transfer to another hospice: 

a. is no longer covered under Medicaid for hospice care; 

b. resumes Medicaid coverage of the benefits waived during the hospice coverage period; 

(for adult clients); and 

c. may at any time elect to receive hospice care if the client is again eligible to receive the 

benefit in the future. 

 

The hospice provider must have in place a discharge planning process that takes into account the 

prospect that a patient's condition might stabilize or otherwise change if that patient cannot 

continue to be certified as terminally ill. The discharge planning process must include planning 

for any necessary family counseling, patient education, or other services before the patient is 

discharged because the patient is no longer terminally ill. 

 

If the hospice provider or the Department determines that a client is not terminally ill while 

receiving hospice care under this rule, the client is not responsible to reimburse the Department. 

If the Department denies reimbursement to the hospice provider, the hospice provider may not 

seek reimbursement from the client. 

 

J. Notifications 

 

 The hospice provider is responsible to notify the Department of Health, Division of Medicaid and 

Health Financing (DMHF) whenever a client is enrolled in hospice care, whenever a client is 

discharged from hospice care, whenever a client moves into a nursing facility, intermediate care 

facility for people with intellectual disabilities (ICF/ID), or free standing inpatient hospice facility, 

or whenever there has been a change in hospice providers.  When any of these events occurs, the 
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hospice provider must submit the following applicable documents to DMHF within 10 (ten) calendar 

days: 

 

1. A Prior Authorization Request Form, a copy of the signed election statement, and a copy of the 

physician’s certification statement whenever a client is enrolled in hospice care and for each 

election period thereafter, 

2. A Prior Authorization Request Form whenever a client’s needs warrant a change to a different 

hospice service (such as continuous home care or GIP), 

3. A Prior Authorization Request Form and a copy of the initial plan of care when a client becomes 

retroactively eligible for Medicaid and hospice care, 

4. A copy of the Prior Authorization Request Form and revocation statement whenever a client 

chooses to revoke hospice benefits, 

5. A copy of the client’s written statement at the time of a change to a different hospice provider, 

and 

6. A copy of the Prior Authorization Request Form indicating the effective date of the discharge.  If 

the discharge is “for cause”, providers must attach a copy of the written discharge order signed 

by the hospice provider’s medical director.  Providers must also send to DMHF a written 

summary describing the “for cause” reason for discharge and any supporting documentation to 

show that the provider satisfied the required steps prior to discharging the client from hospice 

care.      

The preferred method of receipt of these documents is by fax:  (801) 323-1562  

 

Providers also have the option to mail these documents to DMHF.  The documents must be mailed 

early enough to be received by DMHF by the end of 10 calendar days.     

 

 Utah Department of Health  

 Division of Medicaid and Health Financing 

 Bureau of Authorization and Community-Based Services 

 Attn:  Hospice Prior Authorization 

 PO Box 143112 

 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3112 

2 SERVICE COVERAGE  

Services must be reasonable and necessary for the palliation or management of the terminal illness as well 

as related conditions.  

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice clients) 

must be prior authorized.    
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2 - 1 Core Services  

Hospice providers must provide the essential core services listed in this section.  Frequency of services 

should be based upon an individualized assessment of need as determined by the attending physician and 

the interdisciplinary group and as specified in the plan of care.  A hospice provider may use contracted 

staff to supplement hospice employees during periods of peak patient loads or other extraordinary 

circumstances. The hospice provider remains responsible for the quality of services provided by contracted 

staff.  

A.  Nursing care provided by or under the supervision of a registered nurse;  

B.  Medical social services provided by a qualified social worker under the direction of a physician;  

C.  Administrative and general supervisory activities performed by physicians who are employees of, 

or working under arrangements made with, the hospice provider;  

D.  Counseling services for the individual and family members or other persons caring for the person 

at home.  

2 - 2 Other Covered Services  

The following additional services must also be provided directly by, or made available by, the hospice 

provider whenever it is deemed appropriate and necessary by the treatment team and ordered by the 

attending physician.  

A. Short-term general inpatient care (GIP) in a participating hospice inpatient unit, or a hospital, skilled 

nursing, intermediate care, or nursing facility that additionally meets the special hospice standards 

regarding staffing and patient areas. Services provided in an inpatient setting must conform to the 

written plan of care. General inpatient care may be necessary for pain control or acute or chronic 

symptom management which cannot be provided in a home or other outpatient setting. A client’s 

preference to die in a hospital or in another inpatient setting is not an allowable criterion for 

authorization of GIP care.  GIP may not be authorized due to the breakdown of the primary care giving 

living arrangements or the collapse of other sources of support for the client.   

B. Inpatient respite care is an option that may be furnished for up to 5 (five) consecutive days at a time 

to provide relief for the family members or others that are caring for the client at home.  Inpatient 

respite care is not available to clients who are residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or freestanding 

hospice inpatient units.  Inpatient respite care is intended solely for the purpose of providing short 

term relief for family members or other caregivers who are experiencing stress or burnout as a result 

of caring for the patient’s needs.  Clinical log notes should reflect that this need clearly exists, and that 

inpatient respite care is not being used for any other purpose such as for work or schooling for the 

caregiver. 

C. Medical appliances and supplies, including drugs and biologicals which are used primarily for the 

relief of pain and symptom control related to the terminal illness.  Medical supplies must be included 

in the written plan of care. Appliances may include covered durable medical equipment as well as 

other self-help and personal comfort items related to the palliation or management of the client’s 

terminal illness. Equipment is provided by the hospice for use in the patient’s home while he or she is 

under hospice care.  
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D. Home health aide and homemaker services furnished by qualified aides; home health aides may 

provide personal care services. Aides may also perform household services to maintain a safe and 

sanitary environment in areas of the home used by the client, such as changing the bed or light cleaning 

and laundering essential to the comfort and cleanliness of the client. Aide services must be provided 

under the general supervision of a registered nurse. 

E. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology services provided for purposes 

of symptom control or to enable the client to maintain activities of daily living and basic functional 

skills.  

F. Special Modalities: Chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and other modalities may be used for palliative 

purposes if it is determined that these services are needed for palliation. This determination is based 

on the client’s condition and the hospice provider’s care giving philosophy. No additional Medicaid 

payment may be made regardless of the cost of the services.  

G. Continuous home care is provided only during a period in which a client requires at least 8 (eight) 

aggregate hours of primarily nursing care in a 24-hour day in order to manage an acute medical crisis 

and to maintain the client at home.  (A 24-hour day begins and ends at midnight.)  The 8 (eight) 

aggregate hours of care must be predominately (more than half) comprised of nursing care provided 

by either a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse.  Even though this service is entitled “continuous 

home care,” the care provided is not necessarily required to be continuous.  An example of an 

acceptable method of service delivery might be 4 (four) hours provided in the morning and another 4 

(four) hours provided in the evening of the same 24-hour day. Homemaker and aide services may also 

be provided to supplement the nursing care.  Extended stay residents of nursing facilities are not 

eligible for continuous home care services.  

H. Bereavement counseling consists of counseling services provided to the individual’s family after the 

client’s death. Bereavement counseling is a required hospice service but it is not reimbursable.  

3 REIMBURSEMENT  

3 - 1 Hospice Care Rates  

The Department shall provide payment for hospice care in accordance with the methodology set forth in 

the Utah Medicaid State Plan.  A hospice provider may not charge a Medicaid client for a service that the 

client is entitled to receive under Medicaid.  Hospice services (including room and board) are reimbursable 

to the hospice only.  Medicaid payments for hospice services are based on the methodology used in setting 

Medicare rates, adjusted to disregard cost offsets attributable to Medicare coinsurance amounts.  However, 

Medicaid will not apply the aggregate caps used by Medicare. The rates will be based on the Medicare 

rates for Utah which are unique to each geographic region in the state.  Providers should bill the rate that 

applies to the geographic region where the client resides, not the geographic region of the provider’s 

address. 

The Department establishes payment amounts for the following categories: 

1. Routine home care,  
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2. Continuous home care,  

3. Inpatient respite care,  

4. Room and board, and  

5. General inpatient care, as described in this chapter.  

The Department reimburses the hospice provider at the appropriate payment amount for each day for which 

an eligible Medicaid recipient is under the hospice's care. 

The Department makes payment according to the following procedures: 

1. Payment is made to the hospice for each day during which the client is eligible and under the care 

of the hospice, regardless of the amount or intensity of services furnished on any given day. 

2. Payment is made for only one of the categories of hospice care for any particular day with the 

exception of room and board which can be paid in combination with routine home care. 

3. On any day in which the client is not an inpatient, the Department pays the hospice provider the 

routine home care rate, unless the client receives continuous home. 

Payment for inpatient care is limited as follows: 

1. The total payment to the hospice for inpatient care (general or respite) is subject to a limitation 

that total inpatient care days for Medicaid clients not exceed 20 % of the total days for which these 

clients had elected hospice care. Clients afflicted with AIDS are excluded when calculating 

inpatient days. For a client who is under 21 years of age, an inpatient stay in a hospital for the 

purpose of receiving life prolonging treatment for the terminal illness is not counted toward the 

cap on reimbursement for inpatient hospice care. 

2. At the end of a cap period, the Department calculates a limitation on payment for inpatient care 

for each hospice to ensure that Medicaid payment is not made for days of inpatient care in excess 

of 20 percent of the total number of days of hospice care furnished to Medicaid clients by the 

hospice. 

3. If the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid clients is equal to or less than 20% 

of the total days of hospice care to Medicaid clients, no adjustment is necessary. 

4. If the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid clients exceeds 20% of the total days 

of hospice care to Medicaid clients, the total payment for inpatient care is determined in 

accordance with the procedures specified. That amount is compared to actual payments for 

inpatient care, and any excess reimbursement must be refunded by the hospice. 

If a hospice exceeds the number of inpatient care days, the total payment for inpatient care is determined 

as follows: 

1. Calculate the ratio of the maximum number of allowable inpatient days to the actual number of 

inpatient care days furnished by the hospice to Medicaid clients. 

2. Multiply this ratio by the total reimbursement for inpatient care made by the Department. 

3. Multiply the number of actual inpatient days in excess of the limitation by the routine home care 

rate. 

4. Sum the amounts calculated. 
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The hospice provider may request an exception to the inpatient care payment limitation if the hospice 

provider demonstrates the volume of Medicaid enrollees during the cap period was insufficient to 

reasonably achieve the required 20% ratio. 

A. Routine home care  

"Routine home care day" is a day in which a client who has elected to receive hospice care is at 

home and is not receiving continuous home care during a period of crisis.  For purposes of routine 

home care day, extended stay residents of nursing facilities are considered at home and are eligible 

to receive routine home care and SIA payments.  The rate is paid (1) without regard to the volume 

or intensity of routine home care services, and (2) even when the patient is receiving hospital care 

for a condition that is unrelated to the terminal illness. 

Effective January 1, 2016, routine home care will be paid using a tiered payment system as 

described below: 

1. For the first 60 days of hospice episode, a higher base payment rate will be paid in 

recognition that service intensity is often greater during the first two months of hospice 

care.   

2. Beginning with day 61 through the remainder of hospice episode, a lower base payment 

rate will be paid in recognition that service intensity is often lower after the first 60 

days. 

For the purposes of the tiered payment rates, a hospice “episode” is an election period or a series 

of election periods where there are no breaks in stay longer than 60 days.  If there is a break in 

stay and the patient returns to hospice care before the end of 60 days, the count continues from 

where it left off at discharge.  If the break in stay is longer than 60 days, the count begins anew 

upon re-election of hospice care. 

Service intensity add-on (SIA) payments are permitted during the last seven days of a patient’s 

life even if hospice election is short term (less than seven days).  SIA payments are available in 

15-minute increments for up to four hours each day.  SIA payments are equal to the continuous 

home care hourly rate for each hour of direct service and is paid in addition to the routine home 

care daily rate.   

Certain criteria must be met for SIA payments as follows: 

1. The service day is a routine home care level of care day, and 

2. The day occurs during the last seven days of hospice care and the patient is discharged 

“dead,” and 

3. SIA payments are limited to direct patient care (face to face) which is provided by a 

registered nurse or social worker.   

a. Encounters performed by licensed practical nurses (LPNs), hospice aides, 

therapists, clerical staff or others are not eligible for SIA payments.   

b. Remote encounters such as telephone contact performed by a registered nurse or 

social worker are not eligible for SIA payments.  
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B. Continuous home care  

“Continuous home care day" is a day in which a client who has elected to receive hospice care 

receives a minimum of eight aggregate hours of care from the hospice provider during a 24-hour 

day, which begins and ends at midnight. The eight aggregate hours of care must be predominately 

nursing care provided by either a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. Continuous home 

care is only furnished during brief periods of crisis in which a patient requires continuous care that 

is primarily nursing care to achieve palliation or management of acute medical symptoms.  

The hospice provider will maintain documentation to support the requirement that the services 

provided were reasonable and necessary and were in compliance with an established plan of care 

in order to meet a particular crisis situation. Continuous home care is a covered benefit only as 

necessary to maintain the terminally ill client at home. 

The hospice payment on a continuous care day varies depending on the number of hours of 

continuous services provided. The number of hours of continuous care provided during a 

continuous home care day is multiplied by the hourly rate to yield the continuous home care 

payment for that day. A minimum of eight hours of licensed nursing care must be furnished on a 

particular day to qualify for the continuous home care rate.  Continuous home care is a covered 

benefit only as necessary to maintain the terminally ill client at home.  Extended stay residents of 

nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or freestanding hospice inpatient units are not eligible for continuous 

home care.  

C. Inpatient respite care  

"Inpatient respite care day" is a day in which the client who has elected hospice care receives 

short-term inpatient care when necessary to relieve family members or other persons caring for 

the client at home.  The hospice will be paid at the inpatient respite care rate for each day on which 

the client is in an approved inpatient facility and is receiving respite care. Payment for inpatient 

respite care will include the date of admission but not the date of discharge. Respite care will not 

be reimbursed for more than five consecutive days at a time.  

Inpatient respite care is a covered benefit only as necessary to provide relief to family members 

or others who are providing care in the home setting, and is intended as a measure to preserve the 

primary care giving living arrangement.  Extended stay residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or 

freestanding hospice inpatient units are not eligible for inpatient respite care.  

D. General inpatient care (GIP) 

"General inpatient care day" is a day in which a client who has elected hospice care receives 

general inpatient care for pain control or acute or chronic symptom management that cannot be 

managed in a home or other outpatient setting. General inpatient care may be provided in a hospice 

inpatient unit, a hospital, or a nursing facility.   

During the 12-month period beginning November 1 of each year and ending October 31, the 

aggregate number of inpatient days (both for general inpatient care and inpatient respite care) may 

not exceed 20 percent of the aggregate total number of days of hospice care provided to all 
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Medicaid recipients during that same period. The inpatient day limit on both inpatient respite care 

days and general inpatient care days does not apply to recipients afflicted with acquired 

immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS).  

A hospice may not arrange to provide inpatient services (including general inpatient care and 

inpatient respite care) in a Veteran’s Administration Hospital or a military hospital because 

Medicaid cannot pay for services which have already been paid by another governmental entity. 

General inpatient care may only be utilized on a short term basis for pain control or acute or 

chronic symptom management that cannot be managed in a home or other outpatient setting.  A 

client’s preference to die in a hospital setting is not an acceptable criterion for GIP services.  GIP 

may not be authorized due to the breakdown of the primary care giving living arrangements or the 

collapse of other sources of support for the client. 

E. Room and Board 

"Room and Board" is medication administration, performance of personal care, social activities, 

routine and therapeutic dietary services, meal service including direct feeding assistance, maintaining 

the cleanliness of the client's room, assistance with activities of daily living, durable equipment, 

prescribed therapies, and all other services unrelated to care associated with the terminal illness that 

would be covered under the Medicaid State Plan nursing facility benefit. 

For all clients residing in a nursing facility, ICF/ID, or a freestanding hospice inpatient unit who elect 

to receive hospice care (including clients under 21 years of age), Medicaid will pay the hospice 

provider an additional per diem for routine home care services to cover the cost of room and board in 

the facility.  For nursing facilities and ICFs/ID, the room and board rate is 95 percent of the amount 

that the Department would have paid to the nursing facility or ICF/ID provider for that client if the 

client had not elected to receive hospice care.  For freestanding hospice inpatient facilities, the room 

and board rate is 95 percent of the statewide average paid by Medicaid for nursing facility services. 

For clients under 21 years of age, the hospice room and board rate is 100% of the amount that the 

Department would have paid to the nursing facility, ICF/ID, or freestanding hospice inpatient unit for 

that client if the client had not elected to receive hospice care. 

3 - 2 Date of Discharge 

Medicaid reimbursement for GIP or Inpatient Respite Care is available for the day of admission to 

the inpatient setting, but not for the day of discharge.  The only exception is if the client dies while in 

the inpatient setting, the date of death is the date of discharge and is reimbursable at the GIP or 

Inpatient Respite Care rate.  If the client is still living at the time of discharge from the inpatient 

setting, the appropriate home care rate will be paid to the hospice provider for the date of discharge.  

For hospice care that is provided in a client’s home, in a nursing facility, ICF/ID, or any other setting 

that is not an inpatient setting, Medicaid reimbursement is available at the appropriate home care rate 

for the date of admission but not for the day of discharge.  The only exception is if the client dies, the 

date of death is the date of discharge and is paid at the appropriate home care rate.   
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3 - 3 Physician Services  

Costs for administrative and general supervisory activities performed by physicians who are employees of 

or working under arrangements made with the hospice are included in the reimbursement rates for routine 

home care, continuous home care, and inpatient respite care. These activities include participation in the 

establishment of plans of care, supervision of care and services, periodic review and updating of plans of 

care, and establishment of governing policies by the physician member of the interdisciplinary group 

Direct patient care related to the terminal illness or a related condition(s) provided by the medical director, 

hospice-employed physician, or consulting physician are reimbursed and should be billed in accordance 

with the usual Medicaid reimbursement policy for physician services. This reimbursement is in addition 

to the daily rates.  Services furnished voluntarily by physicians are not reimbursable. 

Reimbursement to an independent attending physician will be made in accordance with the usual Medicaid 

reimbursement methodology for physician services and is not based on whether the services are for the 

terminal illness or an unrelated condition.  

Services provided by an independent attending physician must be coordinated with any direct care services 

provided by hospice physicians.  

The hospice should notify the Division of Medicaid and Health Financing of the election and the name of 

the physician who has been designated as the attending physician whenever the attending physician is not 

a hospice employee.  

In-home physician visits by the attending physician are permitted only if the attending physician 

determines that direct management of the client in the home setting is necessary to achieve the goals 

associated with a hospice approach to care.  Residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or free-standing 

inpatient hospice units are not eligible to receive in-home physician services.   

3 - 4 Services Not Related to Terminal Illness  

If a client seeks medical treatment for illnesses or conditions that are not related to the client’s terminal 

illness, this type of treatment is covered by Medicaid in the usual and customary manner when rendered 

by an appropriate Medicaid provider (not the hospice provider). 

Hospice providers should be involved in the decision making process whenever a client or a client’s 

representative wishes to seek any medical treatment beyond that which is included in the hospice plan of 

care.   

3 - 5 Medicaid Health Plans and Hospice  

 If a Medicaid-only client is enrolled in a Medicaid health plan, the hospice selected by the client must 

have a contract with the health plan. The health plan is responsible to reimburse the hospice for hospice 

care. The Department will not directly reimburse a hospice provider for a Medicaid-only client covered 

by a health plan. 

 If a Medicaid-only client enrolled in a health plan elects hospice care before being admitted to a nursing 

facility, ICF/ID, or a freestanding hospice inpatient unit, the health plan is responsible to reimburse the 
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hospice provider for both the hospice care and the room and board until the client is disenrolled from the 

health plan by the Department. At the point the health plan determines that the enrollee will require care 

in the nursing facility for greater than 30 days, the health plan will notify the Department of the prognosis 

of extended nursing facility services. The Department will schedule disenrollment from the health plan to 

occur in accordance with the terms of the health plan contract for care provided in skilled nursing facilities. 

 If a hospice enrollee is covered by Medicare for hospice care, the Medicaid health plan is responsible for 

the health plan's payment rate less any amount paid by Medicare and other payors. The health plan is 

responsible for payment even if the Medicare covered service is rendered by an out-of-plan provider or 

was not authorized by the health plan.  

 The health plan is responsible for room and board expenses of a hospice enrollee receiving Medicare 

hospice care while the client is a resident of a Medicare-certified nursing facility, ICF/ID, or freestanding 

hospice facility until the client is disenrolled from the health plan by the Department. On the 31st day, the 

client is disenrolled from the health plan and enrolled in the Medicaid fee-for-service hospice program. 

At the point the Department determines that the enrollee will require care in the nursing facility for greater 

than 30 days, the Department will schedule disenrollment from the health plan to occur in accordance 

with the terms of the health plan contract for care provided in skilled nursing facilities.  

 The hospice provider is responsible for determining if an applicant for hospice care is covered by a 

Medicaid health plan prior to enrolling the client, for coordinating services and reimbursement with the 

health plan during the period the client is receiving the hospice benefit, and for notifying the health plan 

when the client disenrolls from the hospice benefit. 

4 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR HOSPICE CLIENTS RESIDING IN NURSING 

FACILITIES (NFs) OR INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR PEOPLE WITH 

INTELLECTUAL DISABLITIES (ICFs/ID)  

4 - 1 Medicaid Hospice  

Medicaid hospice services are funded by Medicaid and provided by a Medicare-certified hospice which 

also has a provider agreement with the Division of Medicaid and Health Financing.  

A.  Agreement with NF or ICF/ID  

When an individual residing in a nursing facility or ICF/ID elects hospice care, the hospice and 

the facility must enter into a written agreement which clearly defines the roles and responsibilities 

of each entity.  The hospice provider is responsible for professional management of the client’s 

hospice care and the facility agrees to provide room and board.  Room and board includes 

performance of personal care services, including assistance in the activities of daily living, 

in socializing activities, administration of medication, maintaining the cleanliness of a 

resident’s room, and supervising and assisting in the use of durable medical equipment and 

prescribed therapies.  

The agreement includes at least the following:  
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1. identification of the services to be provided by each party and the method of care 

coordination to assure that all services are consistent with the hospice approach to care and 

are organized to achieve the outcomes defined by the hospice plan of care;  

2. a stipulation that services may be provided only with the express authorization of the 

hospice;  

3. the manner in which the contracted services are coordinated, supervised, and evaluated by 

the hospice;  

4. the delineation of the role(s) of the hospice and the NF or ICF/ID in the admission process, 

recipient/family needs assessment process, and the interdisciplinary team care conferences 

and service planning process;  

5. requirements for documenting that services are furnished in accordance with the agreement;  

6. the qualifications of the personnel providing the services; and 

7. the billing and reimbursement process by which the nursing facility will bill the hospice 

provider for room and board and receive payment from the hospice provider. 

B. Notice of hospice revocation while in a NF or ICF/ID 

 In cases in which nursing facility residents revoke their hospice benefits, it is the responsibility 

 of the hospice provider to notify the nursing facility of the revocation.  The notice must be in 

 writing and the hospice provider must provide it to the nursing facility on or before the 

 revocation date. 

C. Requirements for Admission to NF or ICF/ID 

Even though a nursing facility or ICF/ID is the hospice client’s residence for purposes of the 

hospice benefit, the facility must still comply with the requirements for participation in Medicare 

and/or Medicaid. This means that the client must be assessed, have a plan of care, and be provided 

with the services required under the plan of care. This result can be achieved through cooperation 

between the hospice and facility staff with the consent of the client. In this example, the hospice 

team may participate in completing the RAI (Resident Assessment Instrument).  

D.  Record keeping in NF or ICF/ID  

The hospice must establish and maintain a clinical record for every individual receiving care and 

services. The record must be complete, promptly and accurately documented, readily accessible, 

and systematically organized to facilitate retrieval.  

Entries are made for all services provided. Entries are made and signed by the person providing 

the services. The record includes all services whether furnished directly or under arrangements 

made by the hospice. Each individual’s record contains: 

1. the initial and subsequent assessments;  

2. the plan of care;  
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3. identification data;  

4. consent and authorization and election forms;  

5. pertinent medical history; and  

6. complete documentation of all services and events (including evaluations, treatments, 

progress notes, etc.)  

 

The survey team will look for necessary documentation of services provided when they survey a 

nursing facility or ICF/ID.  

E.  Reimbursement  

1. Reimbursement will be made to the hospice. The hospice will receive its routine daily rate 

plus an allowance for the facility’s room and board. (The room and board allowance is 95 

percent of the facility’s Medicaid per diem rate for each hospice enrollee in that 

facility.  Medicaid’s MMIS will automatically calculate 95 percent of the daily rate for 

that nursing facility upon receipt of the billing.) The facility cannot bill Medicaid 

separately. The hospice receives Medicaid’s payment and must, in turn, reimburse the 

facility for room and board. 

2. Medicaid Health Plans 

a.  If a client is enrolled in a Medicaid health plan and has elected hospice care before 

being admitted to a nursing facility or ICF/ID, the health plan is responsible to 

reimburse the hospice provider for both the hospice care and the room and board.  

b.  If a client is a resident of a nursing facility or ICF/ID before electing hospice care, the 

hospice provider may bill Medicaid fee-for-service for the hospice care and the room 

and board.  

 

3.  Resident Cost-of-Care Contributions  

 

a.  When a hospice client in a nursing facility has a monetary obligation to contribute to 

his/her cost of care in the facility, the nursing facility will continue to collect and retain 

the contribution the same as for a non-hospice nursing facility resident.  

b.  The hospice will bill Medicaid for the room and board at the daily per diem rate of that 

nursing facility. Medicaid’s MMIS will calculate 95 percent for the room and board, and 

will pay the hospice the 95 percent amount minus the client’s cost-of-care obligation.  

c.  The hospice will reimburse the nursing facility the reduced amount received from 

Medicaid.  

 

4.    Billing Instructions  

Hospice providers will bill the room and board for NFs or ICFs/ID in the same manner as for 

other hospice services–CMS 1500 or UB-92.  
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4 - 2 Medicare Hospice  

Medicare hospice services are funded by Medicare and provided by a Medicare-certified hospice.  

A.  If a client is dually enrolled in Medicare and Medicaid, he/she must elect hospice care for both.  

The client must receive hospice coverage under the Medicare benefit.   

B.  When a client is receiving hospice services under Medicare, Medicaid will provide for payment 

of any coinsurance amounts, as well as room and board if the client resides in a nursing facility or 

ICF/ID.  To obtain Medicaid reimbursement for room and board, the hospice provider must submit 

a Prior Authorization Request form to Medicaid in accordance with Medicaid guidelines. (Please 

refer to the prior authorization requirements chapter of this manual for full instructions related to 

requesting Medicaid prior authorization.) 

C.  Medicare hospice services will be billed to Medicare in the usual manner. Room and board will 

be billed to Medicaid by the hospice provider, and the hospice provider will reimburse the facility.  

Nursing facilities and ICFs/ID shall not bill Medicaid directly for room and board for hospice 

clients, including clients under 21 years of age.  

 

D.   If Medicare determines that a patient is no longer eligible for Medicare reimbursement for hospice 

services, the client will no longer be eligible for Medicaid reimbursement for hospice services.  

Providers must immediately notify Medicaid upon learning of Medicare’s determination.  

Medicaid reimbursement for hospice services will cease the day after Medicare notifies the 

hospice provider that the client is no longer eligible for hospice care. 

HOSPICE PROCEDURE CODES 

 

NOTE: All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare 

hospice clients) must be prior authorized.   

 

T2042 Routine home care - daily (The same code applies to the higher base rate and the lower base rate.) 

T2043 Continuous home care – hourly (minimum of 8 hours) 

T2044 Inpatient respite care - daily  

T2045 General inpatient care - daily  

T2046 Nursing facility room and board - daily  

G0155 Service Intensity Add-on – per quarter hour (maximum of 4 hours per day) 

Hospice care for clients enrolled in a 1915(c) home and community-based waiver program 

 

Clients who are enrolled in a 1915(c) waiver program are permitted to receive waiver services and 

hospice care concurrently when all eligibility criteria for both programs has been met.  The hospice 

provider is responsible to provide medically necessary care that is directly related to the patient’s 



Utah Medicaid Provider Manual Hospice Care 

Division of Medicaid and Health Financing Updated March 2016  

 

Page 21 of 27                    Section 2 

terminal illness.  The waiver program may continue to provide services that are unrelated to the client’s 

terminal illness and that are assessed as being necessary to maintain safe residence in a home or 

community-based setting in accordance with waiver requirements.   

 

The waiver case management agency and the hospice case management agency shall meet together upon 

commencement of hospice services to develop a coordinated plan of care that clearly defines the roles 

and responsibilities of each program. 

Marketing limitations 

 

Hospice providers are not permitted to engage in unsolicited direct marketing to prospective clients.  

Hospice providers are free and welcome to engage in marketing strategies such as mass outreach and 

advertisements, but are not permitted to approach a prospective client or legal representative unless the 

client or legal representative explicitly requests information from a particular hospice provider.  Hospice 

providers shall refrain from offering incentives or other enticements to persuade a prospective client to 

choose that provider for hospice care. 

Prior Authorization 

  

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice clients) 

must be prior authorized.  Prior authorization requests will only be considered when submitted by 

Medicaid providers who have a valid Utah Medicaid provider agreement for provision of hospice care. 

 

Prior authorization can only be approved for the duration of defined election periods.  Hospice providers 

are expected to submit prior authorization in alignment with election periods: 

 

a. an initial 90-day period; 

b. a subsequent 90-day period; or 

c. an unlimited number of subsequent 60-day periods 

 

To request prior authorization, the Medicaid hospice provider must complete and submit the Prior 

Authorization Request Form which can be found at the end of this chapter.  Along with the Prior 

Authorization Request Form, providers must also submit a copy of the election statement which has been 

signed and dated by the client or the client’s legal representative and a copy of the physician’s certification 

statement.  For general inpatient hospice care (GIP), additional clinical documents detailing the client’s 

condition at the time of the request will also be required.  Documents must be faxed to: 

   

 

Division of Medicaid and Health Financing 

Bureau of Authorization and Community-Based Services 

Attn:  Hospice Prior Authorization Specialist 

(801) 323-1562  
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Since Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical prognosis to 

live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course, when an adult patient (21 years of 

age or older) reaches 18 consecutive months in hospice care, an independent face to face physician review 

is required.  Independent reviews are subsequently required every 12 months thereafter if the patient 

continues to receive extended hospice care.  18 consecutive months means 18 months in a row wherein 

Medicaid hospice care was provided during any portion of each of the 18 months. 

1) If a circumstance exists where there are no independent licensed physicians available to 

perform the independent review, the Department will allow the review to be completed by a 

supervised physician assistant (PA).  (This allowance is not permissible for the physician 

certification of terminal illness requirement.) 

2) In remote areas of the state where there is a lack of available independent physicians or PAs 

the Department may perform a thorough administrative review to determine the 

appropriateness of permitting a record review in lieu of a face to face evaluation by an 

independent practitioner or of waiving the independent review requirement altogether.  During 

the review process, the Department will determine whether or not the hospice provider 

supplied sufficient evidence to support the claim that an access to care issue exists.    

   

The Department will not accept independent physician reviews that were performed more than 30 days 

earlier than the date the prior authorization is submitted for the applicable election period. Hospice 

agencies should advise patients of this requirement and provide the “Independent Physician Review for 

Extended Care” form to take with them to each independent review.  Prior authorization requests for 

extended hospice care beyond 18 months will be denied if the “Independent Physician Review for 

Extended Care” form is not submitted along with the PA request or if this form indicates the patient does 

not continue to meet program eligibility requirements. 

  

A. Prior authorization grace period 

 

In order to allow for weekends, holidays, and after regular Department business hours, a hospice 

provider may begin service to a new Medicaid hospice client (including covering room and board) for 

a grace period up to 10 (ten) calendar days before submitting the Prior Authorization Request Form to 

the Department. 

 

1) Before the end of the grace period, the hospice provider must complete and submit the prior 

authorization request form to the Department in order to receive reimbursement for hospice 

services rendered. 

 

2) If the hospice provider does not submit the prior authorization request form timely, the 

Department will not reimburse the provider for any dates of service beyond the ten (10) 

calendar days immediately prior to the date the request was received. 

 

B. Post-payment for hospice services while a client is in Medicaid pending status 

 

If a provider admits a client to hospice care under a non-Medicaid funding source and the client 

becomes Medicaid eligible at a later date, the provider must submit the Prior Authorization Request 

Form to the Department along with a copy of the signed election statement and the initial plan of care 

immediately upon learning that the client is Medicaid eligible.  (Providers should not send any 

information to the Department until the client’s Medicaid eligibility has been established.)  The 

Department will review the documents and reimburse a hospice provider retroactively to allow the 
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hospice eligibility date to coincide with the client’s Medicaid eligibility date when the following 

requirements are met: 

 

1) The client met Medicaid eligibility requirements at the time the service was provided, 

 

2) The hospice care met the prior authorization criteria at the time of delivery, and 

 

3) The hospice provider reimburses the Department for care related to the client’s terminal illness 

delivered by other Medicaid providers during the retroactive period. 

 

The hospice provider must provide a copy of the initial care plan and any other documentation to the 

Department adequate to demonstrate the hospice care met prior authorization criteria at the time of 

delivery. 

 

C. Prior authorization for GIP 

 

For general inpatient hospice care (GIP), additional requirements must be met for prior authorization 

beyond the initial 10 (ten) calendar days.  Providers must submit the Prior Authorization Request Form 

along with copies of medical records that support the need for ongoing GIP care.  Qualified 

Department staff will perform a clinical review of the medical records to verify that the client does 

indeed have exceptional care needs that cannot be managed in the client’s home or another outpatient 

setting.  Payment for any days beyond the initial 10 (ten) calendar day stay must be prior authorized 

before the hospice care is provided.  

 

1) Because a clinical review takes time, hospice providers are strongly encouraged to submit the 

GIP prior authorization request and medical records at least 3 (three) State business days 

before the end of the initial 10 (ten) calendar day grace period if there is any reason to believe 

the client’s GIP care will extend beyond 10 (ten) calendar days.  Hospice providers must be 

proactive in submitting the necessary documents early enough to allow for the extra time 

needed to perform a clinical review.   

 

2) If the Department determines that the medical records do not support the requirements for 

ongoing GIP care, the Department will not reimburse the hospice provider beyond the initial 

10 (ten) calendar days. 

 

D. Post-authorization for service intensity add-on (SIA) payments 

 

1) In order to claim SIA payments for direct face to face services rendered by a registered nurse 

or social worker during the last seven (7) days of a patient’s life, hospice providers must 

submit the Post-Authorization Request for Service Intensity Add-On Form to Medicaid before 

the end of thirty (30) calendar days following the patient’s death.  If the hospice provider does 

not submit the post-authorization request form timely, the Department will not reimburse the 

provider for any dates of service beyond the thirty (30) calendar days immediately prior to the 

date the request was received. 

 

2) Along with the required form, hospice providers must also submit copies of nursing and social 

worker log notes for the dates of service listed and any other records that help to document 

the amount of time requested.  Each face to face encounter by each registered nurse or social 
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worker must be reported with start and end times, which may require listing multiple service 

lines for each of the possible seven (7) dates of service. 
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Utah Medicaid Prior Authorization Request for Hospice Services 
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Utah Medicaid Post-Authorization Request Service Intensity Add-On (SIA) for 

Hospice Care 

FAX TO: 801-323-1562 

                                                                                                                      Total:         Mins 

 

Service intensity add-on (SIA) payments are permitted for certain services rendered during the last seven (7) days of a hospice patient’s life.  Billable time is limited to direct face-to-face service encounters with 

the patient performed by the registered nurse (RN) or social worker (SW).  SIA payments are available in 15-minute increments for up to four (4) hours each day.  Encounters performed by LPNs, hospice aides, 

therapists, clerical staff and others are not eligible for SIA payments.  Remote encounters (such as telephone contact) are not eligible for SIA payments. 

 

Post-authorization requests for SIA payments must be received within 30 calendar days after a hospice patient’s death date.  This form must be completed and submitted along with copies of nursing and social 

worker log notes for the dates of service listed and any other records that help to document the amount of time requested.  Each face-to-face encounter by each RN or SW should be reported with start and end 

times, which may require listing multiple service lines for each of the possible seven (7) dates of service.  Use additional sheets if necessary. 

Date of request:       Date of client’s death:       

Hospice agency:       

NPI provider number:       Hospice fax #:       

Client’s first name:       Client’s last name:       

Client’s Medicaid ID:       Client’s date of birth:       

Hospice election date:       Cert period:       

 

Date of Service Name of servicing RN or SW Credentials Start time End time Total time spent (in minutes) 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 

            
 RN 

 Social Worker 
                  Mins 
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Independent Physician Review for Extended Care 
 

Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical prognosis 

to live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course.   

When an adult patient (21 years of age or older) reaches 18 months in hospice care, an 

independent face to face physician review is required.   Independent reviews are subsequently 

required every 12 months thereafter if the patient continues to receive extended hospice care.   

Hospice agencies should advise patients of this requirement and provide this form to take with 

them to each independent review.  Prior authorization requests for extended hospice care will 

be denied if this form is not submitted along with the PA request or if this form indicates the 

patient does not continue to meet program eligibility requirements. 

Section 1 - Patient Information:  (This section can be filled in by the hospice provider.) 

Patient’s first name: ______________________ Patient’s last name: ___________________  

Medicaid ID number: _____________________  Patient’s DOB:  ______/______/______ 

Hospice provider name:________________________________________________________ 

Section 2 - Independent physician evaluation results: (Completed by the independent physician.) 

Does this patient have a terminal illness?   Yes            No           Inconclusive 

If yes, list the terminal diagnosis/es: ______________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
Please note: principal diagnoses of ‘debility’ or ‘adult failure to thrive’ will not be accepted as meeting the 

eligibility criteria for Medicaid hospice care. 

Considering the normal course of the patient’s diagnosis/es, does it appear the patient’s life 

expectancy is six (6) months or less?         Yes            No           Inconclusive 

Section 3 – Independent physician’s certification statement: 

I certify that I am a physician licensed in the state of Utah and that I am not affiliated with hospice 

agency listed in Section 1 above.  I further certify that I (or my staff) entered the evaluation results 

listed above and that they are based on a face to face evaluation performed on 

__________________(date). The conclusions listed are unbiased and free from influence. 

Physician’s name: ______________________________  License #: ____________________ 

Physician’s signature: ___________________________________  Date: ________________ 


