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GENERAL POLICY 

Hospice care comes from the recognition that a client’s terminal condition warrants a change in focus 

from curative care to palliative care. Hospice care may be provided only by a hospice provider licensed 

by the Department, that is Medicare certified in accordance with 42CFR418, and that is a Medicaid 

provider. 

Section 9505 of Public Law 99-272, the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 

(COBRA), permits states to provide hospice care under their Medicaid State Plans. COBRA requires the 

State to provide hospice services in the same amount, duration, and scope as Medicare services and at 

the same payment rate. 

Effective March 1, 1989, the Utah Medicaid program added hospice care as a covered Medicaid service. 

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice 

clients) must be prior authorized in accordance with R414-14A. 

Medicaid hospice providers shall adhere to the guidelines in this provider manual as well as the 

requirements contained in Administrative Rule R414-14A (Hospice Care).  In the event that this provider 

manual is found to be in conflict with Rule R414-14A, the administrative rule will take precedence. 

1 - 1 Definitions 

Hospice provider means a public agency or private organization that is licensed under the provisions of 

R432-750, is primarily engaged in providing care to terminally ill individuals, meets the Medicare 

conditions of participation for hospice, and has a valid provider agreement with the Division of Medicaid 

and Health Financing (DMHF). This provider agreement must be separate and distinct from other 

provider agreements. 

Pediatric Hospice Provider means a public agency or private organization that has met all the 

conditions to become a Medicaid hospice provider and that has also submitted the necessary additional 

documents to enroll as a pediatric hospice provider with Utah Medicaid. Additional documents include 

a signed copy of the Pediatric Hospice Provider Attachment and a copy of the provider’s training 

curriculum to be utilized when training all paid and unpaid staff that will provide care to clients who are 

under 21 years of age.  

Terminally ill means a medical prognosis that the client’s life expectancy is six months or less if the 

terminal illness runs its normal course. 

Attending physician means a doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is designated by the client at the 

time he or she elects to receive hospice care as having primary responsibility for the determination and 

delivery of the client’s medical care. 

Adult means a hospice client who is at least 21 years of age or older. 

Cap period means the 12 month period ending October 31 used in the application of the cap on 

reimbursement for inpatient hospice care as described in R414-14A-23(5). 
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Employee means an employee of the hospice provider or, if the hospice provider is a subdivision of an 

agency or organization, an employee of the agency or organization who is appropriately trained and 

assigned to the hospice unit.  “Employee” includes a volunteer under the direction of the hospice 

provider. 

Legal Representative (or representative) means an individual who has been authorized under state law 

to make health care decisions, including initiating, continuing, refusing, or terminating medical 

treatments for a client who is unable to make health care decisions. 

1 - 2 Eligible Recipients 

1. Hospice care is available to categorically and medically needy individuals under Medicaid. 

1 - 3 Access Requirements (Updated 8/1/15) 

Hospice services must meet the requirements relating to certification of terminal illness and the client’s 

election of hospice care, as described in this chapter. 

A. Certification of Terminal Illness 

1.	 The hospice provider must obtain written certification by a physician that a client is terminally 

ill. The certification of a terminal condition must be based on a face-to-face assessment by a 

physician conducted no more than 90 days prior to the date of hospice enrollment.  Hospice 

providers may not seek Medicaid reimbursement for hospice care until the date of a physician’s 

certification. 

2.	 Underlying conditions may not be used as qualifying terminal diagnoses for hospice care.  

Hospice agencies must use ICD-9 and ICD-10 coding guidelines and code first the condition 

determined by the certifying physician to be the most contributory to a prognosis of six months 

or less.  Principal diagnoses of ‘debility’, ‘adult failure to thrive’, and other underlying 

conditions such as nutritional deficiencies will not be accepted as meeting the eligibility criteria 

for Medicaid hospice care if the patient does not have at least one additional, another, or 

coexisting principal terminal diagnosis that is more definitive. Underlying conditions can be 

reported as other diagnoses contributing to the prognosis of six months or less. 

1. If written certification is not obtained within two calendar days following the initiation of 

hospice care, a verbal certification may be made within two days following the initiation of hospice care, 

with a written certification not later than eight days after care is initiated. Payment begins with the day of 

certification. An appropriate entry in the client’s medical record must be made and filed as soon as the 

oral certification is obtained. 

B. Election of Hospice 

1.	 In order to enroll in Medicaid hospice care, a client who meets the eligibility requirements must 

elect hospice care by filing a written election statement with a particular hospice provider.  

Election statements are designed and supplied to clients by hospice providers and must include 

the following elements: 

a)	 Identification of the particular hospice that will provide the hospice care, 
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b)	 The client’s (or legal representative’s) acknowledgment that he or she has been given a full 

understanding of the palliative rather than curative nature of hospice care as it relates to the 

client’s terminal illness, 

c)	 For adult clients, acknowledgment that the client waives certain Medicaid services as set 

forth in R414-14A-9, 

d)	 Acknowledgment that the client (or legal representative) may revoke the election of the 

hospice benefit at any time in the future.  Adults must also acknowledge that revocation of 

hospice benefits will result in restoration of Medicaid benefits that were waived at the time 

of hospice election, and 

e)	 Signature of the client or legal representative. 

2.	 Pediatric hospice providers must have distinct election statements designed specifically for 

clients under 21 years of age.  This election statement must inform pediatric clients and their 

legal representatives that by electing hospice care, they do not forfeit any other benefit that 

would otherwise be available to them through the Medicaid State Plan.  This election statement 

must also inform them that upon turning 21 years of age, they will no longer have concurrent 

care benefits and will be subject to the rules governing adults who have elected Medicaid 

hospice care. 

3.	 If the client is not physically or mentally capable or if the client is under 18 years of age, an 

election statement may also be filed by a representative authorized by state law to elect or 

revoke hospice care or terminate medical care on behalf of a terminally ill individual. 

4.	 Medicaid payment for hospice care is not available prior to the day that the election was filed.  

The effective date of the election may be the first day of hospice care or a later date, but may be 

no earlier than the date of the election statement. 

5.	 An election to receive hospice care remains effective through the initial election period and 

through the subsequent election periods without a break in care as long as the patient: 

a.	 remains in the care of a hospice; 

b.	 does not revoke the election; and 

c.	 is not discharged from the hospice. 

6.	 A client may elect to receive hospice care during one or more of the following election periods: 

a.	 an initial 90-day period; 

b.	 a subsequent 90-day period; or 

c.	 an unlimited number of subsequent 60-day periods 

7.	 Since Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical 

prognosis to live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course, when an adult 

patient (21 years of age or older) reaches 12 consecutive months in hospice care, an independent 

face to face physician review is required.   Independent reviews are subsequently required every 
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12 months thereafter if the patient continues to receive extended hospice care.  12 consecutive 

months means 12 months in a row wherein Medicaid hospice care was provided during any 

portion of each of the 12 months. 

C.	 Dual eligibility 

If a client is dually enrolled in Medicare and Medicaid, he or she must enroll in both Medicare and 

Medicaid hospice care. The client must receive hospice coverage under Medicare. Medicaid is 

available to pay for Medicare coinsurance and/or room and board for clients who are residing in a 

Medicare-certified nursing facility, an intermediate care facility for people with intellectual 

disabilities (ICF/ID), or a freestanding hospice facility. 

1.	 Rights Waived to Some Medicaid Services for Adult Clients 

2.	 For the duration of an adult client’s hospice enrollment, the client must waive all rights to 

Medicaid coverage for any services that are related to the treatment of the terminal condition for 

which hospice was elected, or a related condition, or for any services which are essentially 

duplicative of hospice care. Exceptions include such services that are 

a)	 provided by the designated hospice provider, 

b)	 provided by another hospice provider under arrangements made by the designated hospice, 

or 

c)	 provided by the client’s attending physician if the services provided are not otherwise 

covered by the payment made for hospice care.  (See chapter 3-3.) 

3.	 If an adult client seeks medical treatment for illnesses or conditions that are not related to the 

client’s terminal illness, this type of treatment is covered by Medicaid when provided by the 

appropriate provider. Hospice providers are not responsible to reimburse medical care providers 

for treatment that is unrelated to the client’s terminal condition. 

E.	 Concurrent Care for Clients Under 21 Years of Age 

1.	 For the duration of hospice care, clients under the age of 21 years old may only receive hospice 

care which is provided by the designated hospice, or that has been provided under arrangements 

made by the designated hospice. 

2.	 Clients under 21 years of age who elect to receive Medicaid hospice care may also receive 

concurrent Medicaid State Plan treatment for the terminal illness and other related conditions. 

3.	 For life prolonging treatment rendered to clients under 21 years of age, Medicaid will reimburse the 

appropriate Medicaid enrolled medical care providers directly through the usual and customary 

Medicaid billing procedures. Hospice providers are not responsible to reimburse medical care 

providers for life prolonging treatment rendered to hospice clients who are under 21 years of age. 

4.	 Each pediatric hospice provider will develop a training curriculum to ensure that the hospice’s 
interdisciplinary team members, including volunteers, are adequately trained to provide hospice 

care to clients who are under 21 years of age. All staff members and volunteers providing 

pediatric hospice care must receive the training prior to provision of services, and at least 
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annually thereafter. At a minimum, the training will include the following pediatric specific 

elements: 

(a)	  Growth and development 

(b)	  Pediatric pain and symptom management 

(c)	  Loss, grief and bereavement for pediatric families and the child 

(d)	  Communication with family, community and interdisciplinary team. 

(e)	  Psycho-social/spiritual care of children 

(f)  Coordination of care with the child’s community 

(5) The Hospice Program will adopt the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization’s 

(NHPCO) Standards for Hospice Programs for their pediatric care. 

F.	 Plans of Care 

A plan of care must be established by the interdisciplinary group. At least one of the persons 

involved in development the initial plan must be a nurse or physician. The plan of care must be 

consistent with the hospice philosophy of care. This plan must be established on the same day as the 

face-to-face assessment and certification if the day of assessment and certification is to be a covered 

day of hospice care. 

G.	 Revocation of Hospice Benefits 

The client (or legal representative) may revoke the election of hospice care at any time. To revoke 

the election of hospice care, the client or representative must give the hospice a signed statement 

revoking the election of hospice care for the remainder of that election period with the date 

revocation is to be effective. The individual forfeits the remainder of the election period. 

H.	 Provider Initiated Discharge from Hospice Care 

1.	 Hospice providers may not initiate discharge of a patient from hospice care except in the 

following circumstances: 

a)	 The client moves out of the hospice provider’s geographic service area or transfers to 
another hospice provider by choice. 

b)	 The hospice provider determines that the patient no longer meets the eligibility criteria for 

hospice. 

c)	 The hospice provider determines that the client’s behavior (or the behavior of other persons 
in the patient’s home) is disruptive, abusive, or uncooperative to the extent that delivery of 

care to the client or the ability of the hospice to operate effectively is seriously impaired. 

This type of discharge is called “for cause.” When it becomes necessary to discharge for 

cause, the following steps must be taken prior to discharge: 

i. Advise the client that a discharge for cause is being considered, 

ii. Make a diligent effort to resolve the problem(s), 
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iii.	 Ascertain that the discharge is not due to the client’s use of necessary hospice 

services, 

iv.	 Document the problems and efforts to resolve the problem in the client’s medical 

record, 

v.	 Consult the attending physician, and 

vi.	 Obtain a written discharge order from the hospice provider’s medical director. 

I.	 Notifications 

The hospice provider is responsible to notify the Department of Health, Division of Medicaid and 

Health Financing (DMHF) whenever a client is enrolled in hospice care, whenever a client is 

discharged from hospice care, whenever a client moves into a nursing facility, intermediate care 

facility for people with intellectual disabilities (ICF/ID), or free standing inpatient hospice facility, 

or whenever there has been a change in hospice providers.  When any of these events occurs, the 

hospice provider must submit the following applicable documents to DMHF within 10 (ten) calendar 

days: 

1.	 A Prior Authorization Request Form, a copy of the signed election statement, and a copy of the 

physician’s certification statement whenever a client is enrolled in hospice care and for each 

election period thereafter, 

2.	 A Prior Authorization Request Form whenever a client’s needs warrant a change to a different 

hospice service (such as continuous home care or GIP), 

3.	 A Prior Authorization Request Form and a copy of the initial plan of care when a client becomes 

retroactively eligible for Medicaid and hospice care, 

4.	 A copy of the Prior Authorization Request Form and revocation statement whenever a client 

chooses to revoke hospice benefits, 

5.	 A copy of the client’s written statement at the time of a change to a different hospice provider, 

and 

6.	 A copy of the Prior Authorization Request Form indicating the effective date of the discharge. If 

the discharge is “for cause” as described in R414-14A-14, providers must attach a copy of the 

written discharge order signed by the hospice provider’s medical director.  Providers must also 

send to DMHF a written summary describing the “for cause” reason for discharge and any 

supporting documentation to show that the provider satisfied the required steps prior to 

discharging the client from hospice care. 

The preferred method of receipt of these documents is by fax: (801) 323-1562 
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Providers also have the option to mail these documents to DMHF.  The documents must be mailed 

early enough to be received by DMHF by the end of 10 calendar days.  

Utah Department of Health 

Division of Medicaid and Health Financing 

Bureau of Authorization and Community-Based Services 

Attn:  Hospice Prior Authorization 

PO Box 143112 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3112 

SERVICE COVERAGE 

Services must be reasonable and necessary for the palliation or management of the terminal illness as 

well as related conditions. 

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice 

clients) must be prior authorized. (Please refer to R414-14A and the prior authorization section of this 

manual for further details related to prior authorization requirements.) 

2 - 1 Core Services 

Hospice providers must provide the essential core services listed in this section. Frequency of services 

should be based upon an individualized assessment of need as determined by the attending physician and 

the interdisciplinary group and as specified in the plan of care. A hospice provider may use contracted 

staff to supplement hospice employees during periods of peak patient loads or other extraordinary 

circumstances. The hospice provider remains responsible for the quality of services provided by 

contracted staff. 

A. 	 Nursing care provided by or under the supervision of a registered nurse; 

B. 	 Medical social services provided by a qualified social worker under the direction of a physician; 

C. 	 Administrative and general supervisory activities performed by physicians who are employees 

of, or working under arrangements made with, the hospice provider; 

D. 	 Counseling services for the individual and family members or other persons caring for the 

person at home. 

2 - 2 Other Covered Services 

The following additional services must also be provided directly by, or made available by, the hospice 

provider whenever it is deemed appropriate and necessary by the treatment team and ordered by the 

attending physician. 

A.	 Short-term general inpatient care (GIP) in a participating hospice inpatient unit, or a hospital, skilled 

nursing, intermediate care, or nursing facility that additionally meets the special hospice standards 

regarding staffing and patient areas. Services provided in an inpatient setting must conform to the 

written plan of care. General inpatient care may be necessary for pain control or acute or chronic 

symptom management which cannot be provided in a home or other outpatient setting. A client’s 
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preference to die in a hospital or in another inpatient setting is not an allowable criterion for 

authorization of GIP care. GIP may not be authorized due to the breakdown of the primary care 

giving living arrangements or the collapse of other sources of support for the client.  

B.	 Inpatient respite care is an option that may be furnished for up to 5 (five) consecutive days at a time 

to provide relief for the family members or others that are caring for the client at home. Inpatient 

respite care is not available to clients who are residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or freestanding 

hospice inpatient units. Inpatient respite care is intended solely for the purpose of providing short 

term relief for family members or other caregivers who are experiencing stress or burnout as a result 

of caring for the patient’s needs. Clinical log notes should reflect that this need clearly exists, and 

that inpatient respite care is not being used for any other purpose such as for work or schooling for 

the caregiver. 

C.	 Medical appliances and supplies, including drugs and biologicals which are used primarily for the 

relief of pain and symptom control related to the terminal illness. Medical supplies must be included 

in the written plan of care. Appliances may include covered durable medical equipment as well as 

other self-help and personal comfort items related to the palliation or management of the client’s 

terminal illness. Equipment is provided by the hospice for use in the patient’s home while he or she 

is under hospice care. 

D.	 Home health aide and homemaker services furnished by qualified aides; home health aides may 

provide personal care services. Aides may also perform household services to maintain a safe and 

sanitary environment in areas of the home used by the client, such as changing the bed or light 

cleaning and laundering essential to the comfort and cleanliness of the client. Aide services must be 

provided under the general supervision of a registered nurse. 

E.	 Physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology services provided for 

purposes of symptom control or to enable the client to maintain activities of daily living and basic 

functional skills. 

F.	 Special Modalities: Chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and other modalities may be used for palliative 

purposes if it is determined that these services are needed for palliation. This determination is based 

on the client’s condition and the hospice provider’s care giving philosophy. No additional Medicaid 

payment may be made regardless of the cost of the services. 

G.	 Continuous home care is provided only during a period in which a client requires at least 8 (eight) 

aggregate hours of primarily nursing care in a 24-hour day in order to manage an acute medical 

crisis and to maintain the client at home. (A 24-hour day begins and ends at midnight.) The 8 

(eight) aggregate hours of care must be predominately (more than half) comprised of nursing care 

provided by either a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. Even though this service is entitled 

“continuous home care,” the care provided is not necessarily required to be continuous. An example 

of an acceptable method of service delivery might be 4 (four) hours provided in the morning and 

another 4 (four) hours provided in the evening of the same 24-hour day. Homemaker and aide 

services may also be provided to supplement the nursing care. Extended stay residents of nursing 

facilities are not eligible for continuous home care services. 
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H.	 Bereavement counseling consists of counseling services provided to the individual’s family after the 
client’s death. Bereavement counseling is a required hospice service but it is not reimbursable. 

REIMBURSEMENT 

3 - 1 Hospice Care Rates 

Hospice services are reimbursable to the hospice only. Medicaid payments for hospice services are based 

on the methodology used in setting Medicare rates, adjusted to disregard cost offsets attributable to 

Medicare coinsurance amounts. However, Medicaid will not apply the aggregate caps used by 

Medicare. The rates will be based on the Medicare rates for Utah which are unique to each geographic 

region in the state. Providers should bill the rate that applies to the geographic region where the client 

resides, not the geographic region of the provider’s address. 

The five types of fixed daily rates are for routine home care, continuous home care, inpatient respite 

care, room and board, and general inpatient care, as described in this chapter. 

A. Routine home care 

The hospice will be paid the routine home care rate for each day the patient is at “home” and is 

not receiving continuous care during a period of crisis. The rate is paid (1) without regard to the 

volume or intensity of routine home care services, and (2) even when the patient is receiving 

hospital care for a condition that is unrelated to the terminal illness. 

Extended stay residents of nursing facilities and ICFs/ID are considered to be “at home” for the 

purposes of this service and are eligible to receive routine home care. 

B. Continuous home care 

Continuous home care is to be provided only during a period of crisis. The hospice will be paid 

the continuous home care rate when continuous home care is provided as described in section 2-

2 and in R414-14A-5 and R414-14A-17. 

The continuous home care rate is divided by 24 hours in order to arrive at an hourly rate. A 

minimum of 8 (eight) hours must be provided. For every hour or part of an hour of continuous 

home care furnished, the hourly rate will be reimbursed to the hospice up to 24 hours a day. 

Continuous home care is a covered benefit only as necessary to maintain the terminally ill client 

at home. Extended stay residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or freestanding hospice inpatient 

units are not eligible for continuous home care. 

C. Inpatient respite care 

The hospice will be paid at the inpatient respite care rate for each day on which the client is in an 

approved inpatient facility and is receiving respite care. Payment for inpatient respite care will 
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include the date of admission but not the date of discharge. Respite care will not be reimbursed 

for more than five consecutive days at a time. 

Inpatient respite care is a covered benefit only as necessary to provide relief to family members 

or others who are providing care in the home setting, and is intended as a measure to preserve 

the primary care giving living arrangement. Extended stay residents of nursing facilities, 

ICFs/ID, or freestanding hospice inpatient units are not eligible for inpatient respite care. 

D. General inpatient care (GIP) 

During the 12-month period beginning November 1 of each year and ending October 31, the 

aggregate number of inpatient days (both for general inpatient care and inpatient respite care) 

may not exceed 20 percent of the aggregate total number of days of hospice care provided to all 

Medicaid recipients during that same period. The inpatient day limit on both inpatient respite 

care days and general inpatient care days does not apply to recipients afflicted with acquired 

immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS). 

A hospice may not arrange to provide inpatient services in a V.A. or military hospital because 

Medicaid cannot pay for services which have already been paid by another governmental entity. 

General inpatient care may only be utilized on a short term basis for pain control or acute or 

chronic symptom management that cannot be managed in a home or other outpatient setting. A 

client’s preference to die in a hospital setting is not an acceptable criterion for GIP services.  GIP 

may not be authorized due to the breakdown of the primary care giving living arrangements or 

the collapse of other sources of support for the client. 

E. Room and Board 

For all clients residing in a nursing facility, ICF/ID, or a freestanding hospice inpatient unit who 

elect to receive hospice care (including clients under 21 years of age), Medicaid will pay the hospice 

provider an additional per diem for routine home care services to cover the cost of room and board in 

the facility. For nursing facilities and ICFs/ID, the room and board rate is 95 percent of the amount 

that the Department would have paid to the nursing facility or ICF/ID provider for that client if the 

client had not elected to receive hospice care. For freestanding hospice inpatient facilities, the room 

and board rate is 95 percent of the statewide average paid by Medicaid for nursing facility services. 

For clients under 21 years of age, the hospice room and board rate is 100% of the amount that the 

Department would have paid to the nursing facility, ICF/ID, or freestanding hospice inpatient unit 

for that client if the client had not elected to receive hospice care. 

3 - 2 Date of Discharge 

Medicaid reimbursement for GIP or Inpatient Respite Care is available for the day of admission to 

the inpatient setting, but not for the day of discharge. The only exception is if the client dies while 

in the inpatient setting, the date of death is the date of discharge and is reimbursable at the GIP or 

Inpatient Respite Care rate. If the client is still living at the time of discharge from the inpatient 

setting, the appropriate home care rate will be paid to the hospice provider for the date of discharge. 
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For hospice care that is provided in a client’s home, in a nursing facility, ICF/ID, or any other 

setting that is not an inpatient setting, Medicaid reimbursement is available at the appropriate home 

care rate for the date of admission but not for the day of discharge. The only exception is if the 

client dies, the date of death is the date of discharge and is paid at the appropriate home care rate.  

3 - 3 Physician Services 

Costs for administrative and general supervisory activities performed by physicians who are employees 

of or working under arrangements made with the hospice are included in the reimbursement rates for 

routine home care, continuous home care, and inpatient respite care. These activities include 

participation in the establishment of plans of care, supervision of care and services, periodic review and 

updating of plans of care, and establishment of governing policies. 

Direct patient care provided by the medical director, hospice-employed physician, or consulting 

physician should be billed in accordance with the usual Medicaid reimbursement policy for physician 

services. This reimbursement is in addition to the daily rates. 

Reimbursement to an independent attending physician will be made in accordance with the usual 

Medicaid reimbursement methodology for physician services and is not based on whether the services 

are for the terminal illness or an unrelated condition. 

Services provided by an independent attending physician must be coordinated with any direct care 

services provided by hospice physicians. 

The hospice should notify the Division of Medicaid and Health Financing of the election and the name 

of the physician who has been designated as the attending physician whenever the attending physician is 

not a hospice employee. 

In-home physician visits by the attending physician are permitted only if the attending physician 

determines that direct management of the client in the home setting is necessary to achieve the goals 

associated with a hospice approach to care. Residents of nursing facilities, ICFs/ID, or free-standing 

inpatient hospice units are not eligible to receive in-home physician services.  

3 - 4 Services Not Related to Terminal Illness 

If a client seeks medical treatment for illnesses or conditions that are not related to the client’s terminal illness, this 

type of treatment is covered by Medicaid in the usual and customary manner when rendered by an appropriate 

Medicaid provider (not the hospice provider). 

Hospice providers should be involved in the decision making process whenever a client or a client’s representative 

wishes to seek any medical treatment beyond that which is included in the hospice plan of care.  

3 - 5 Medicaid Health Plans and Hospice 

The hospice provider is responsible for determining whether an applicant for hospice care is covered by 

a Medicaid health plan prior to enrolling the client in hospice care, for coordinating services and 

reimbursement with the health plan, and for notifying the health plan when the client is discharged from 

hospice care. If a hospice recipient is enrolled in a health plan, the hospice provider selected by the 
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recipient must have a contract with the health plan, and the health plan will be responsible to reimburse 

the hospice for hospice services. 

If the hospice client is enrolled in Medicare, the Medicaid health plan is responsible for the health plan’s 

rate less any amount paid by Medicare and other payors. The health plan is responsible for payment 

even if the Medicare covered service is rendered by an out-of-plan provider or was not authorized by the 

health plan. 

Providers should refer to R414-14A-28 for additional information and requirements related to Medicaid 

health plans and hospice care. 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR HOSPICE CLIENTS RESIDING IN NURSING 

FACILITIES (NFs) OR INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR PEOPLE WITH 

INTELLECTUAL DISABLITIES (ICFs/ID) 

4 - 1 Medicaid Hospice 

Medicaid hospice services are funded by Medicaid and provided by a Medicare-certified hospice which 

also has a provider agreement with the Division of Medicaid and Health Financing. 

A. Agreement with NF or ICF/ID 

When an individual residing in a nursing facility or ICF/ID elects hospice care, the hospice and 

the facility must enter into a written agreement which clearly defines the roles and 

responsibilities of each entity. The hospice provider is responsible for professional management 

of the client’s hospice care and the facility agrees to provide room and board. Room and board 

includes performance of personal care services, including assistance in the activities of 

daily living, in socializing activities, administration of medication, maintaining the 

cleanliness of a resident’s room, and supervising and assisting in the use of durable 

medical equipment and prescribed therapies. 

The agreement includes at least the following: 

1.	 identification of the services to be provided; 

2.	 a stipulation that services may be provided only with the express authorization of the 

hospice; 

3.	 the manner in which the contracted services are coordinated, supervised, and evaluated by 

the hospice; 

4.	 the delineation of the role(s) of the hospice and the NF or ICF/ID in the admission process, 

recipient/family assessment, and the interdisciplinary group care conferences; 

5.	 requirements for documenting that services are furnished in accordance with the agreement; 

6.	 the qualifications of the personnel providing the services. 

B. Notice of hospice revocation while in a NF or ICF/ID 
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In cases in which nursing facility residents revoke their hospice benefits, it is the responsibility 

of the hospice provider to notify the nursing facility of the revocation.  The notice must be in 

writing and the hospice provider must provide it to the nursing facility on or before the 

revocation date. 

C. Requirements for Admission to NF or ICF/ID 

Even though a nursing facility or ICF/ID is the hospice client’s residence for purposes of the 

hospice benefit, the facility must still comply with the requirements for participation in Medicare 

and/or Medicaid. This means that the client must be assessed, have a plan of care, and be 

provided with the services required under the plan of care. This result can be achieved through 

cooperation between the hospice and facility staff with the consent of the client. In this example, 

the hospice team may participate in completing the RAI (Resident Assessment Instrument). 

D. Record keeping in NF or ICF/ID 

The hospice must establish and maintain a clinical record for every individual receiving care and 

services. The record must be complete, promptly and accurately documented, readily accessible, 

and systematically organized to facilitate retrieval. 

Entries are made for all services provided. Entries are made and signed by the person providing 

the services. The record includes all services whether furnished directly or under arrangements 

made by the hospice. Each individual’s record contains: 

1.	 the initial and subsequent assessments; 

2.	 the plan of care; 

3.	 identification data; 

4.	 consent and authorization and election forms; 

5.	 pertinent medical history; and 

6.	 complete documentation of all services and events (including evaluations, treatments, 

progress notes, etc.) 

The survey team will look for necessary documentation of services provided when they survey a 

nursing facility or ICF/ID. 

E. Reimbursement 

1. Reimbursement will be made to the hospice. The hospice will receive its routine daily rate 

plus an allowance for the facility’s room and board. (The room and board allowance is 95 

percent of the facility’s Medicaid per diem rate for each hospice enrollee in that 

facility. Medicaid’s MMIS will automatically calculate 95 percent of the daily rate for 

that nursing facility upon receipt of the billing.) The facility cannot bill Medicaid 

separately. The hospice receives Medicaid’s payment and must, in turn, reimburse the 

facility for room and board. 
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2.	 Medicaid Health Plans 

a.	 If a client is enrolled in a Medicaid health plan and has elected hospice care before 

being admitted to a nursing facility or ICF/ID, the health plan is responsible to 

reimburse the hospice provider for both the hospice care and the room and board. 

b.	 If a client is a resident of a nursing facility or ICF/ID before electing hospice care, the 

hospice provider may bill Medicaid fee-for-service for the hospice care and the room 

and board. 

3.	 Resident Cost-of-Care Contributions 

a. 	 When a hospice client in a nursing facility has a monetary obligation to contribute to 

his/her cost of care in the facility, the nursing facility will continue to collect and retain 

the contribution the same as for a non-hospice nursing facility resident. 

b. 	 The hospice will bill Medicaid for the room and board at the daily per diem rate of that 

nursing facility. Medicaid’s MMIS will calculate 95 percent for the room and board, and 

will pay the hospice the 95 percent amount minus the client’s cost-of-care obligation. 

c. 	 The hospice will reimburse the nursing facility the reduced amount received from 

Medicaid. 

4. 	 Billing Instructions 

Hospice providers will bill the room and board for NFs or ICFs/ID in the same manner as 

for other hospice services–CMS 1500 or UB-92. 

4 - 2 Medicare Hospice 

Medicare hospice services are funded by Medicare and provided by a Medicare-certified hospice. 

A. 	 If a client is dually enrolled in Medicare and Medicaid, he/she must elect hospice care for both. 

The client must receive hospice coverage under the Medicare benefit. 

B. 	 When a client is receiving hospice services under Medicare, Medicaid will provide for payment 

of any coinsurance amounts, as well as room and board if the client resides in a nursing facility 

or ICF/ID. To obtain Medicaid reimbursement for room and board, the hospice provider must 

submit a Prior Authorization Request form to Medicaid in accordance with Medicaid guidelines. 

(Please refer to the prior authorization requirements chapter of this manual and R414-14A for 

full instructions related to requesting Medicaid prior authorization.) 

C. 	 Medicare hospice services will be billed to Medicare in the usual manner. Room and board will 

be billed to Medicaid by the hospice provider, and the hospice provider will reimburse the 

facility. Nursing facilities and ICFs/ID shall not bill Medicaid directly for room and board for 

hospice clients, including clients under 21 years of age. 
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D.  	 If Medicare determines that a patient is no longer eligible for Medicare reimbursement for 

hospice services, the client will no longer be eligible for Medicaid reimbursement for hospice 

services. Providers must immediately notify Medicaid upon learning of Medicare’s 

determination. Medicaid reimbursement for hospice services will cease the day after Medicare 

notifies the hospice provider that the client is no longer eligible for hospice care. 

HOSPICE PROCEDURE CODES 

NOTE: All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare 

hospice clients) must be prior authorized in accordance with guidelines and requirements found in this 

manual and in R414-14A.  

T2042 Routine home care - daily 

T2043 Continuous home care – hourly (minimum of 8 hours) 

T2044 Inpatient respite care - daily 

T2045 General inpatient care - daily 

T2046 Nursing facility room and board - daily 

Hospice care for clients enrolled in a 1915(c) home and community-based waiver program 

Clients who are enrolled in a 1915(c) waiver program are permitted to receive waiver services and 

hospice care concurrently when all eligibility criteria for both programs has been met.  The hospice 

provider is responsible to provide medically necessary care that is directly related to the patient’s 

terminal illness. The waiver program may continue to provide services that are unrelated to the client’s 

terminal illness and that are assessed as being necessary to maintain safe residence in a home or 

community-based setting in accordance with waiver requirements.  

The waiver case management agency and the hospice case management agency shall meet together upon 

commencement of hospice services to develop a coordinated plan of care that clearly defines the roles 

and responsibilities of each program. 

Marketing limitations 

Hospice providers are not permitted to engage in unsolicited direct marketing to prospective clients.  

Hospice providers are free and welcome to engage in marketing strategies such as mass outreach and 

advertisements, but are not permitted to approach a prospective client or legal representative unless the 

client or legal representative explicitly requests information from a particular hospice provider.  Hospice 

providers shall refrain from offering incentives or other enticements to persuade a prospective client to 

choose that provider for hospice care. 

Page 16 of 20	 Section 2 



    

     

 

                        

 

  

        

          

     

 

 

           

 

 

  

   

  

 

      

         

        

            

           

        

   

 

 

  

 

  

 

     

       

          

         

      

      

 

   

        

       

        

             

 

  

  

 

        

        

      

 

 

Utah Medicaid Provider Manual Hospice Care 

Division of Medicaid and Health Financing Updated August 2015 

Prior Authorization 

All Medicaid hospice services (including room and board in a nursing facility for Medicare hospice 

clients) must be prior authorized. Prior authorization requests will only be considered when 

submitted by Medicaid providers who have a valid Utah Medicaid provider agreement for provision 

of hospice care. 

Prior authorization can only be approved for the duration of defined election periods. Hospice 

providers are expected to submit prior authorization in alignment with election periods: 

a. an initial 90-day period; 

b. a subsequent 90-day period; or 

c. an unlimited number of subsequent 60-day periods 

To request prior authorization, the Medicaid hospice provider must complete and submit the Prior 

Authorization Request Form which can be found at the end of this chapter. Along with the Prior 

Authorization Request Form, providers must also submit a copy of the election statement which has 

been signed and dated by the client or the client’s legal representative and a copy of the physician’s 

certification statement. For general inpatient hospice care (GIP), additional clinical documents 

detailing the client’s condition at the time of the request will also be required. Documents must be 

faxed to: 

Division of Medicaid and Health Financing
 
Bureau of Authorization and Community-Based Services
 
Attn:  Hospice Prior Authorization Specialist
 
(801) 323-1562 

Since Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical 

prognosis to live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course, when an adult 

patient (21 years of age or older) reaches 12 consecutive months in hospice care, an independent 

face to face physician review is required. Independent reviews are subsequently required every 12 

months thereafter if the patient continues to receive extended hospice care. 12 consecutive months 

means 12 months in a row wherein Medicaid hospice care was provided during any portion of each 

of the 12 months. 

Hospice agencies should advise patients of this requirement and provide the “Independent Physician 

Review for Extended Care” form to take with them to each independent review. Prior authorization 

requests for extended hospice care beyond 12 months will be denied if the “Independent Physician 

Review for Extended Care” form is not submitted along with the PA request or if this form indicates 

the patient does not continue to meet program eligibility requirements. 

A. Prior authorization grace period 

In order to allow for weekends, holidays, and after regular Department business hours, a hospice 

provider may begin service to a new Medicaid hospice client (including covering room and board) 

for a grace period up to 10 (ten) calendar days before submitting the Prior Authorization Request 

Form to the Department. 
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1)	 Before the end of the grace period, the hospice provider must complete and submit the prior 

authorization request form to the Department in order to receive reimbursement for hospice 

services rendered. 

2)	 If the hospice provider does not submit the prior authorization request form timely, the 

Department will not reimburse the provider for the hospice care that is rendered before the 

date that the form is received. 

B.	 Post-payment for hospice services while a client is in Medicaid pending status 

If a provider admits a client to hospice care under a non-Medicaid funding source and the client 

becomes Medicaid eligible at a later date, the provider must submit the Prior Authorization Request 

Form to the Department along with a copy of the signed election statement and the initial plan of 

care immediately upon learning that the client is Medicaid eligible. (Providers should not send any 

information to the Department until the client’s Medicaid eligibility has been established.) The 

Department will review the documents and reimburse a hospice provider retroactively to allow the 

hospice eligibility date to coincide with the client’s Medicaid eligibility date when the following 

requirements are met: 

1)	 The client met Medicaid eligibility requirements at the time the service was provided, 

2)	 The hospice care met the prior authorization criteria at the time of delivery, and 

3)	 The hospice provider reimburses the Department for care related to the client’s terminal 
illness delivered by other Medicaid providers during the retroactive period. 

C.	 Prior authorization for GIP 

For general inpatient hospice care (GIP), additional requirements must be met for prior authorization 

beyond the initial 10 (ten) calendar days. Providers must submit the Prior Authorization Request 

Form along with copies of medical records that support the need for ongoing GIP care. Qualified 

Department staff will perform a clinical review of the medical records to verify that the client does 

indeed have exceptional care needs that cannot be managed in the client’s home or another 

outpatient setting. Payment for any days beyond the initial 10 (ten) calendar day stay must be prior 

authorized before the hospice care is provided. 

1)	 Because a clinical review takes time, hospice providers are strongly encouraged to submit 

the GIP prior authorization request and medical records at least 3 (three) State business days 

before the end of the initial 10 (ten) calendar day grace period if there is any reason to 

believe the client’s GIP care will extend beyond 10 (ten) calendar days. Hospice providers 

must be proactive in submitting the necessary documents early enough to allow for the extra 

time needed to perform a clinical review.  

2)	 If the Department determines that the medical records do not support the requirements for 

ongoing GIP care, the Department will not reimburse the hospice provider beyond the initial 

10 (ten) calendar days. 
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Utah Medicaid Prior Authorization Request for Hospice Services
 

Hospice Provider Name: 

NPI Provider Number: 

Initial Hospice Admission Date: 

(No matter the funding source) 

Is the client Medicaid eligible upon initial 

Yes (Submit this form and a copy of the signed election statement and physician 

certification statement to Medicaid within 10 calendar days.  If this form is not received 

timely, Medicaid will not reimburse for hospice services rendered prior to the date the PA 

request is received.) 

admission? No (Complete this form & attach copies of the initial care plan, physician certification 

statement and signed election statement but DO NOT submit anything to Medicaid until 

after client becomes Medicaid eligible.  Medicaid will then require all four documents 

when determining post payment authorization.) 

Who Signed the Election Statement? Client  Legal Representative as defined in R414-14A 

(Representative’s name & relation to client:  ___________________________________ 

Client’s Name: Last: ____________________ First: _______________ 

Client’s Medicaid ID Number: 

Client’s Social Security Number: 

Client’s Date of Birth: 

Diagnosis(es) Description: (Not codes) 

Date of physician certification statement: 

Physician: Last: ____________________ First:________________ 

Hospice Contact Person: 

Contact Person Phone Number: 

Date of Client’s Retro Medicaid Eligibility: 

Nursing Home or ICF/ID Name: 

Hospice Benefit Requested: Routine Room & Board Other_______________________________ 

Prior Auth Effective Dates: 
__________ to __________   PA # ______________ 

__________ to __________   PA # ______________ 

Discharge date: _____/_____/_____ 

 Fax to: 801-323-1562 

Date of death:  _____/_____/_____ 

Date client revoked:  _____/_____/_____ 

(Send a copy of the revocation form signed by the client or legal representative.) 
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Independent Physician Review for Extended Care 

Medicaid hospice benefits are reserved for terminally ill patients who have a medical prognosis 

to live no more than six (6) months if the illness runs its normal course. 

When an adult patient (21 years of age or older) reaches 12 months in hospice care, an 

independent face to face physician review is required. Independent reviews are subsequently 

required every 12 months thereafter if the patient continues to receive extended hospice care. 

Hospice agencies should advise patients of this requirement and provide this form to take with 

them to each independent review. Prior authorization requests for extended hospice care will 

be denied if this form is not submitted along with the PA request or if this form indicates the 

patient does not continue to meet program eligibility requirements. 

Section 1 - Patient Information: (This section can be filled in by the hospice provider.) 

Patient’s first name: ______________________ Patient’s last name: ___________________ 

Medicaid ID number: _____________________ Patient’s DOB: ______/______/______ 

Hospice provider name:________________________________________________________ 

Section 2 - Independent physician evaluation results: (Completed by the independent physician.) 

Does this patient have a terminal illness? Yes No Inconclusive 

If yes, list the terminal diagnosis/es: ______________________________________________ 

Please note: principal diagnoses of ‘debility’ or ‘adult failure to thrive’ will not be accepted as meeting the 

eligibility criteria for Medicaid hospice care. 

Considering the normal course of the patient’s diagnosis/es, does it appear the patient’s life 

expectancy is six (6) months or less? Yes No Inconclusive 

Section 3 – Independent physician’s certification statement: 

I certify that I am a physician licensed in the state of Utah and that I am not affiliated with hospice 

agency listed in Section 1 above. I further certify that I (or my staff) entered the evaluation results 

listed above and that they are based on a face to face evaluation performed on 

__________________(date). The conclusions listed are unbiased and free from influence. 

Physician’s name: ______________________________ License #: ____________________ 

Physician’s signature: ___________________________________  Date: ________________ 
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