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23-60 Provider Enrollment Contracts   
 
With the end of the Public Health Emergency (PHE) on May 11, 2023, Provider Enrollment will 
restart the auto-closure process in January of 2024 that was previously waived per 1135(b)(1)(B). 

Per Utah Administrative Code R414-23-4, the Department may automatically close a provider 
contract for any of the following reasons:   

(1) Failure to revalidate within the required five-year cycle as directed by 42 CFR 424.515.  

(2) Expiration of professional license, or expiration of any license associated with the 
program for clinical laboratory improvement amendments (CLIA).  
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(3) Upon state or federal reporting of a deceased provider. 

(4) Failure to bill Medicaid for one or more years without notification.  

Providers who fail to complete their revalidation timely, will be closed at the end of their 
revalidation cycle.  For questions or concerns, contact providerenroll@utah.gov. 

 

 

23-61 Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Electronic Visit Verification (EVV)   
 
EVV No Longer Required for T1001 

Effective July 1, 2023, the State no longer requires EVV records to be submitted for the service 
code T1001 (Nursing assessment/evaluation). 

New Technical Specifications for API and CSV File Submission 

On October 5, 2023, Utah Medicaid will implement updates to the LTSS Electronic Visit 
Verification (EVV) File Technical Specifications (Version 1.7).  Go to https://medicaid.utah.gov/evv/ 
to review and download the LTSS EVV File Technical Specifications v1.7.  The current version (1.6) 
will be in effect until October 4, 2023.  After implementation of the updates, the old version will 
no longer be functional. 

EVV is Required for Home Health Services by January 1, 2024 

As a reminder, CMS and the State require all Personal Care and Home Health Care providers to 
submit EVV records to accompany their claims.  The State has included PCS and HHS services in 
audits related to EVV, but has not been assessing any penalties for missing EVV records for HHS 
services.  Beginning January 2024, the State will begin assessing penalties for non-compliance to 
HHS and PCS EVV requirements. 

Changes to Administrative Rule R414-522 

The Administrative Rule that outlines the EVV requirements and audit practices has recently 
been updated.  Updates include:  

mailto:providerenroll@utah.gov
https://medicaid.utah.gov/evv/
https://medicaid.utah.gov/evv/
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(1) Clarification to the penalties for noncompliance to EVV.  

(2) Requirement for providers to submit EVV records within 3 months of submitting 
Medicaid claim. 

 

 

23-62 Prior Authorization Updates   
 
Updated Prior Authorization Submission Requirements 
 
On all Fee-for Service prior authorizations there is a procedure line requiring a CPT, HCPCS, or 
DRG code.  Providers are required to put in a Requested $ Amount upon submission.  This 
amount must be $0.00 for claims to process correctly.  This includes all manually priced items.  
 
Modifications to any prior authorization request must be requested via a Modification Request 
Form.  This form should be loaded directly to the active tracking number within PRISM.  Do not 
create an additional request or entry into PRISM as this will further delay the review process.  
 

Prior Authorization Status Updates 

Updates have been made to the prior authorization phone tree.  Please listen carefully before 
selecting a prompt.  We will no longer be providing status requests over the phone.  Status 
requests can be located through the PRISM portal.  If you do not have access to view this status, 
please contact your domain administrator to obtain access. 
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23-63 Provider Billing Language Clarification   
 
Chapter 3-1 of the Section I: General Information Provider Manual has been updated as follows: 

3-1 Provider Agreement 
 
A provider enrolls as a Medicaid Provider by completing the Medicaid Provider 
Application and signing the Provider Agreement.  A provider must execute the 
Agreement before they are authorized to furnish Medicaid services.  When the State 
accepts the provider’s application and the agreement is signed, the State will notify the 
provider by approval letter with the effective date of enrollment.  Providers submitting 
applications for Medicaid enrollment or re-credentialing of an existing enrollment, must 
send in a completed application packet with all required documentation and 
information.  If the submission is incomplete or incorrect, the provider will be notified by 
letter that the application was not accepted due to missing and or incorrect 
documentation or information and the application will be discarded.  Medicaid will 
consider a new application if the provider submits a completed application packet that 
includes all required documentation and information. 
 
The following provisions are part of every Provider Agreement, whether included 
verbatim or specifically incorporated by reference: 

 
• The provider agrees to comply with all laws, rules, and regulations governing the 

Medicaid Program.  
• The provider agrees to follow, all guidelines and edits of the following agencies or 

organizations: 
- Medicaid Integrated Outpatient Code Editing obtained from CMS via secure 
Rissnet files. 
- American Medical Association Guidelines 
- National Correct Coding Initiative 
- National Uniform Billing Code 

• The provider agrees that the submittal of any claim by or on behalf of the provider 
will constitute a certification (whether or not such certification is reproduced on the 
claim form) that: 

https://medicaid.utah.gov/utah-medicaid-official-publications/
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- The medical services for which payment is claimed were furnished in accordance 
with the requirements of Medicaid; 

- The medical services for which payment is claimed were actually furnished to the 
person identified as the patient at the time and in the manner stated; 

- The payment claimed does not exceed the provider's usual and customary 
charges or the maximum amount negotiated under applicable regulations of the 
Division of Integrated Healthcare; and 

- The information submitted in, with, or in support of the claim is true, accurate, 
and complete. 

• Providers are prohibited from submitting inaccurate Medicaid claims. 
 
  

 

23-64 P&T Committee Updates   
 
The Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee will review insulin pumps in September. 

P&T Committee meeting minutes are posted on the Utah Medicaid website at 
https://medicaid.utah.gov/pharmacy/pt-committee. 

 

   

23-65 DUR Board Updates   
 
In July 2023, the Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board met to review newer disease-targeted 
agents for sick cell disease.  In August 2023, the DUR Board met to review Hemgenix 
(etranacogene dezaparvovec). 
 
DUR Board meeting minutes are posted on the Utah Medicaid website 
at https://medicaid.utah.gov/pharmacy/drug-utilization-review-board/.  DUR Board meeting 
recordings can be found on the YouTube Channel @dmhf_webdohdhhs2. 
 

https://medicaid.utah.gov/pharmacy/pt-committee
https://medicaid.utah.gov/pharmacy/drug-utilization-review-board/
https://www.youtube.com/@dmhf_webdohdhhs2/playlists
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23-66 Pharmacy Prior Authorization Processing   
 
Pharmacy prior authorization requests received for pharmacy services, including pharmacy 
related HCPCS codes, must be complete upon submission.  An incomplete submission means 
required information is missing, which may result in the prior authorization being denied.  The 
Utah Medicaid pharmacy team attempts to contact providers to obtain additional information 
for the prior authorization request at least two times.  Providers and their staff are encouraged 
to complete the prior authorization request to include the exact medication name the member 
will be using, or indicate if a substitution is not permissible. 

Medication Name/ Strength:  

 

Dose: 

❑ Do Not Substitute. Authorizations will be 
processed for the preferred Generic/Brand 
equivalent unless otherwise specified. 

Directions for use: 

 

If a provider’s intent is for a member to use a brand product, they will check “Do Not Substitute”. 
In the example below, the request would be reviewed for the non-preferred name brand 
Percocet 5/325mg.  

Medication Name/ Strength:  

Percocet 5/325mg 

Dose: 

☒  
Do Not Substitute. Authorizations will be 
processed for the preferred Generic/Brand 
equivalent unless otherwise specified. 

Directions for use: 
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If a provider submits a prior authorization request without indicating “Do Not Substitute”, the 
request will be processed for the preferred Generic/Brand equivalent.  In the example below, 
the request would be reviewed for the preferred generic equivalent, Oxycodone/APAP 5/325mg. 

Medication Name/ Strength:  

Percocet 5/325mg 

Dose: 

☐  
Do Not Substitute. Authorizations will be 
processed for the preferred Generic/Brand 
equivalent unless otherwise specified. 

Directions for use: 

 

In all cases, providers should submit prior authorization requests using the most current form 
available on the Utah Medicaid Pharmacy Website, complete all fields legibly, and include all 
supporting documentation required for the pharmacy service requested. 

 

 
 

23-67 Pharmacy Policy, Coverage, Prior Authorization and HCPCS Codes   
 

The Utah Medicaid Preferred Drug List is updated monthly and is the most up-to-date source of 
information pertaining to drug specific pharmacy coverage, limitations, and policies, in addition 
to the Utah Medicaid State Plan, Utah Administrative Rule, Utah Medicaid Provider Manuals and 
Medicaid Information Bulletins, and Pharmacy prior authorization forms. 

Pharmacy prior authorization forms and pharmacy related HCPCS codes are reviewed and 
updated at a minimum annually, but may be updated more frequently as drug labels are 
expanded.  

Per the Utah Medicaid Provider Manual Section I: General Information, 2-3 Member Eligibility 
Verification, Providers who administer and bill Utah Medicaid for pharmacy related HCPCS codes 
shall verify member eligibility.  Pharmacy related HCPCS code coverage and the HCPCS NDC 
Crosswalk shall be used together to verify coverage, reimbursement, and covered NDC’s for 
pharmacy related HCPCS. 

https://medicaid.utah.gov/pharmacy/prior-authorization/
https://medicaid.utah.gov/utah-medicaid-official-publications/
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To access the most recent pharmacy resources, go to https://medicaid.utah.gov/, click on 
Healthcare Providers, Medicaid Pharmacy Program. 

 

 

23-68 Definitive Drug Testing Update   
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) will implement a new replacement file 
that will go into effect on October 1, 2023.  The replacement file will be effective for July 1, 2023.  
The National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) issued the following statement in regards to that 
update: 

 
Effective July 1, 2023, CMS implemented NCCI PTP edits between Column One 
codes 80305, 80306, and 80307 for presumptive test(s), and Column Two codes 
G0480 – G0483, and G0659 for definitive test(s).  Currently, these edits cannot be 
bypassed using an NCCI modifier; however, CMS will change these edits to a CCMI 
of 1, which will allow for the use of a modifier to bypass the edits in those 
circumstances when billing these codes together is allowable.  This change to allow 
the use of a modifier will be retroactive to July 1, 2023, and will be implemented in 
the next quarterly update effective on October 1, 2023. 

 
In accordance with the changes made to the NCCI tables, providers are required to report the 
allowable modifier to definitive urine drug test CPT codes when reporting a presumptive urine 
drug test CPT code on the same date of service.  The modifiers that have been approved are: 
 

▪ 59 - Distinct Procedural Service 
▪ XE - Separate Encounter, a service that is distinct because it occurred during a separate 

encounter 
▪ XP - Separate Structure, a service that is distinct because it was performed on a 

separate organ/structure  
▪ XS - Separate Practitioner, a service that is distinct because it was performed by a 

different practitioner 

https://medicaid.utah.gov/
https://www.cms.gov/medicare-medicaid-coordination/national-correct-coding-initiative-ncci/ncci-medicaid#replacement_files_medicaid
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▪ XU - Unusual Non-Overlapping Service, the use of a service that is distinct because it 
does not overlap usual components of the main service 

 
MLN 1783722 was issued in March of 2023 as an educational tool by CMS for guidance on how 
these modifiers should be used. 
 
 
 

23-69 Laboratory Services – Urine Drug Testing (UDT)   
 
Providers may submit claims for urine drug testing (UDT) using a singular NPI.  Each facility 
location performing and reporting laboratory services requires its own Clinical Laboratory 
Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certification number.  UDT performed by the same 
organization at one location cannot be reported using another location's CLIA certification 
number. 
 
Effective July 1, 2023, providers must append one of the appropriate modifiers to the definitive 
UDT when a presumptive UDT is performed on the same date of service.  These modifiers 
include 59, XE, XP, XS, and XU.  The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has 
published guidance regarding the Proper Use of Modifiers 59, XE, XP, XS, and XU.  
 
Claims submitted without the appropriate modifier will be denied in accordance with NCCI PTP 
editing. 

For additional information related to Utah Medicaid laboratory policies, providers may reference 
Chapter 8-12 Laboratory Services, of the Physician Services Provider Manual. 

 

 

23-70 Medicaid Ordering, Referring, and Prescribing Update   
 
Under the 21st Century Cures Act, state Medicaid agencies must require all ordering, referring, 
and prescribing (ORP) providers to enroll with the state Medicaid agency as a Medicaid provider.  

https://www.cms.gov/files/document/mln1783722-proper-use-modifiers-59-xe-xp-xs-and-xu.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/
https://www.cms.gov/files/document/mln1783722-proper-use-modifiers-59-xe-xp-xs-and-xu.pdf
https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/manuals/pdfs/Medicaid%20Provider%20Manuals/Physician%20Services/Physician%20Services%20Manual/PhysicianServices.pdf
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In addition, certain Medicaid providers, such as home health, DME, and others, are required to 
include an ordering/referring provider NPI on their claim to Medicaid.  If the ORP NPI is not 
included and/or is not enrolled with Medicaid, states are required to deny the billing provider’s 
claim.  
 
On April 14, 2023, Utah Medicaid worked with our federal partners to use temporary authority 
granted to the State of Utah under the public health emergency to waive this requirement until 
September 1, 2023.  The PRISM system disabled the ORP edits, which allowed ORP providers 
additional time to submit their enrollment before the editing was enabled.  
 
The temporary extension did not exempt providers from federal compliance.  
 
Beginning September 1, 2023, all ORP editing will be enabled to enforce the federal requirement.  
Claims with dates of service between April 3, 2023 - August 31, 2023 will be reprocessed and 
ORP claim editing will apply.  Please note this may result in the recoupment of overpayments to 
those providers who are not in compliance.  Utah Accountable Care Organizations (ACO’s) are 
also required to comply with these federal regulations. 
 
Utah Medicaid published the following documents in an effort to notify providers and ACO’s of 
the federal requirement and the temporary waiver:  
MIB Article  
ORP Notice  
 
Additionally, Utah Medicaid granted an interim extension between April 3, 2023 - October 5, 
2023 for providers requesting retro-enrollment.  Beginning October 6, 2023, Utah Medicaid will 
go back to the previous retro-enrollment process of up to 120 days.  Publication and guidance 
on the retro-enrollment extension can be found here: Retro Enrollment. 
 
We encourage everyone to share this information to avoid any disruption in services to 
members or payment to providers when the waiver of this requirement is lifted on September 1, 
2023. 
 
 

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/manuals/pdfs/Medicaid%20Information%20Bulletins/Traditional%20Medicaid%20Program/2022/Special%20Interim%20MIB/December2022Interim-MIB.pdf
https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/pdfs/ORP%20Notice.pdf
https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/pdfs/Retro%20Enrollment%20Extension%20for%20ORP%20and%20Billing%20Providers_April%202023.pdf
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23-71 FQHC Preventative Dental Services   
 
Beginning April 1, 2023, preventative dental services will be a covered benefit for Federally 
Qualified Health Centers (FQHC).  The Rural Health Centers and Federally Qualified Health 
Centers Services Provider Manual, Chapter 9-1 Non-Covered Services, will be modified to remove 
preventative dental services from the list of non-covered services for FQHCs. 

In addition, the following preventative dental service CDT codes will be open for coverage for 
Provider Allowable Code (PAC) 066 – Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) in PRISM: 
 

D1110   Prophylaxis – adult  
D1120   Prophylaxis – child  
D1206   Topical fluoride varnish  
D1351   Sealant - per tooth  
D1354   SDF treatment 
D1510   Space maintainer - fixed, unilateral - per quadrant  
D1516   Space maintainer - fixed - bilateral, maxillary  
D1517   Space maintainer - fixed - bilateral, mandibular  
D1520   Space maintainer – removable, unilateral – per quadrant  
D1526   Space maintainer – removable, bilateral – maxillary 
D1527   Space maintainer – removable, bilateral – mandibular  
D1551   Re-cement or re-bond bilateral space maintainer – maxillary  
D1552   Re-cement or re-bond bilateral space maintainer – mandibular  
D1553   Re-cement or re-bond bilateral space maintainer – per quadrant  
D1575   Distal shoe space maintainer - fixed, unilateral - per quadrant  

 

FQHC providers that have denied claims for preventative dental services since PRISM go-live may 
resubmit these claims for reprocessing.  For additional policy information for preventative dental 
services, reference the Coverage and Reimbursement Code Lookup Tool. 

 

 

https://health.utah.gov/stplan/lookup/CoverageLookup.php
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23-72 Well Child Visit Tracking Card   
 
The Accountable Care Organization (ACO) health plans in collaboration with DHHS have created 
a well child visit tracking card.  Health plans will begin distributing these cards to Medicaid 
members later this year.  A printable copy of the card is located on the DHHS Website.  Providers 
can download this card for in-office use.   
 
The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends children receive eleven (11) well child 
check-ups by the time they reach 3 years old.  Following the recommended schedule of visits 
helps keep children’s immunizations up to date, makes sure important milestones are met, and 
ensures that developmental screenings are completed. 

https://dhhs.utah.gov/up2date/educational-resources/

